Click to Skip Ad
Closing in...

National Society of Film Critics Love 'Amour'

by Matt Singer
January 6, 2013 8:27 PM
  • |

With the Academy Award nominations just four days away, the National Society of Film Critics announced their own 2012 awards, topped by Michael Haneke's "Amour." It received three trophies: Best Actress (Emmanuelle Riva), Best Director (Haneke) and Best Picture.

The awards, voted on by "60 of the country's most prominent writers on film," also gave two prizes to "Lincoln" -- Daniel Day-Lewis for Best Actor and Tony Kushner for Best Screenplay -- and two to "The Master" -- Amy Adams for Best Supporting Actress and Mihai Malaimare Jr. for Best Cinematography. Here's the NSFC's full list of winners:

Best Picture: "Amour"
Best Director: Michael Haneke, "Amour"
Best Actor: Daniel Day-Lewis, "Lincoln"
Best Actress: Emmanuelle Riva, "Amour"
Best Supporting Actor: Matthew McConaughey, "Magic Mike"
Best Supporting Actress: Amy Adams, "The Master"
Best Nonfiction Film: "The Gatekeepers"
Best Screenplay: Tony Kushner, "Lincoln"
Best Cinematography: Mihai Malaimare Jr., "The Master"
Best Experimental Film: "This Is Not a Film"

One last note on the NSFC: per their press release, this year's awards "were dedicated to the late Andrew Sarris, one of the most original and influential American film critics as well as a founding member of the National Society." A nice tribute to one of the great movie lovers of all-time.

Other 2012 Critics Awards (Best Film Pick in Parenthesis)
-New York Film Critics Circle ("Zero Dark Thirty")
-Boston Online Film Critics Association ("Zero Dark Thirty")
-Los Angeles Film Critics Association ("Amour")
-Boston Society of Film Critics ("Zero Dark Thirty")
-New York Film Critics Online ("Zero Dark Thirty")
-Washington D.C. Area Film Critics Association ("Zero Dark Thirty")
-Las Vegas Film Critics Society ("Life of Pi")
-San Diego Film Critics Society ("Argo")
-Toronto Film Critics Association ("The Master")
-Chicago Film Critics Association ("Zero Dark Thirty")
-Detroit Film Critics Society ("Silver Linings Playbook")
-Kansas City Film Critics Circle ("The Master")
-San Francisco Film Critics Circle ("The Master")
-Southeastern Film Critics Association ("Argo")
-Austin Film Critics Association ("Zero Dark Thirty")
-Florida Film Critics Circle ("Argo")
-African-American Film Critics Association ("Zero Dark Thirty")
-Black Film Critics Circle ("Zero Dark Thirty")

  • |

More: 2012 Critics Polls


Email Updates