Click to Skip Ad
Closing in...

OFCS Awards Top Prize to Unlikely Contender.

Photo of Eric Kohn By Eric Kohn | Eric Kohn January 3, 2011 at 4:13AM

Just kidding! The Online Film Critics Society, of which I am a member, has voted "The Social Network" as best film of the year.

Just kidding! The Online Film Critics Society, of which I am a member, has voted "The Social Network" as best film of the year.

I did vote for Aaron Sorkin's screenplay, which I admire greatly, but have to admit a slight tinge of disappointment at yet another critic group rewarding the same movie, which I enjoy to a great degree but did not include in my top ten. Critical consensus doesn't tell the whole story.

Then again, if this helps "TSN" gain yet more Oscar momentum, I say more power to it. As I wrote a few months ago, an Oscar season that plays up the respective accomplishments of David Fincher and Darren Aronofsky has the potential to foreground talent that has gone woefully ignored by the Academy for at least a decade. Bring it on.

As for the other winners? It's nice to see recognition for Banksy, Roger Deakins, and Bong Joon-ho. Now there's a trio you won't see lumped together again anytime soon.

The full list of winners is available here and also posted below.

"The Social Network," the dramatized examination of the personalities and incidents behind the launch of the Facebook social media movement, was named Best Picture in the 14th annual Online Film Critics Society Awards. The film also won in the categories of Best Director (David Fincher) and Best Adapted Screenplay (Aaron Sorkin).

The OFCS Awards for acting were divided among a quartet of productions: Colin Firth in "The King’s Speech" for Best Actor, Natalie Portman in "Black Swan" for Best Actress, Christian Bale in "The Fighter" for Best Supporting Actor and Hailee Steinfield in "True Grit" for Best Supporting Actress. "True Grit" was also honored for Roger Deakins’ cinematography.

"Inception" received two awards: Christopher Nolan for Best Original Screenplay and Lee Smith for Best Editing. "Toy Story 3" was named Best Animated Feature, "Exit Through the Gift Shop" received the Best Documentary Award, and the South Korean production "Mother" was named Best Picture Not in the English Language.

The complete list of winners of the 2010 OFCS Awards follows:

Picture: "The Social Network"
Director: David Fincher "The Social Network"
Actor: Colin Firth "The King's Speech"
Actress: Natalie Portman "Black Swan"
Supporting Actor: Christian Bale "The Fighter"
Supporting Actress: Hailee Steinfeld "True Grit"
Original Screenplay: Christopher Nolan "Inception"
Adapted Screenplay: Aaron Sorkin "The Social Network"
Foreign Language Film: "Mother"
Documentary: "Exit Through The Gift Shop"
Animated Feature: "Toy Story 3"
Cinematography: Roger Deakins "True Grit"
Editing: Lee Smith "Inception"

Founded in 1997, the Online Film Critics Society has been the key force in establishing and raising the standards for Internet-based film journalism. The OFCS membership consists of film reviewers, journalists and scholars based in the U.S., Canada, Europe, Latin America and the Asia/Pacific Rim region. For more information, visit the Online Film Critics Society at