dylan's 2

Dylan Leiner and Martin Marquet invited me to LAFEST, at Home Depot Center but I could not go.  Michael Donaldson went though and his team played pretty well I hear. Dylan and Martin  started it 3 years ago in NY and teamed with Tribeca. This year they took the event to L.A and are co-hosting with the Mia Hamm Foundation.

LAFEST (Los Angeles Film & Entertainment Soccer Tournament) kicked off their first annual entertainment industry soccer event in LA. The all-day event featured a 5v5 entertainment industry soccer tournament, a youth soccer showcase and tournament and culminated with the 5th Annual Mia Hamm & Nomar Garciaparra Celebrity Soccer Challenge. LAFEST was the preeminent soccer event of its kind on the West Coast, bringing together film, entertainment, media and advertising professionals and celebrities who are passionate about soccer.  In addition to Soccer Hall of Famer and former US Women's National Soccer Team Captain Mia Hamm, Survivor: Africa Winner and Grassroot Soccer Co-Founder Ethan Zohn and former Boston Red Sox and Los Angeles Dodger great Nomar Garciaparra, the event welcomed celebrity participants from the entertainment and sports worlds. 

Mia Hamm, Stephen Moyer, Nomar Garciaparra
Mia Hamm, Stephen Moyer, Nomar Garciaparra

LAFEST marked the coming together of the New York Film and Entertainment Soccer Tournament (NYFEST) founded in 2011 by Sony Pictures Classics EVP of Acquisitions & Production and lifelong footballer, Dylan Leiner, filmmaker and former professional soccer player, Jeffrey Saunders, and the Mia Hamm and Nomar Garciaparra Celebrity Soccer Challenge, which was launched in 2008. 

Proceeds  supported the Mia Hamm Foundation and Grassroot Soccer

Participating sports celebrities included: Mia Hamm, Normar Garciaparra, Julie Foudy, Alex Morgan, Abby Wambach, Joy Fawcett, Tisha Venturini Hoch, Jimmy Conrad, Jay Feely, Lauren Cheney, Cobi Jones, Indi Cowie, Oliver Wyss, Eli Freeze, Eric Wynalda, Rebecca Soni.

Participating entertainment celebrities include: Ethan Zohn, Alessandro Nivola, Chris Harrison, Clark Gregg, Diego Luna, Demian Bichir, Anthony LaPaglia, Dule Hill, Sabrina Bryan, Mike Medavoy, Nana Meriwether, Tristan MacManus, Warren Barton, Ben Lyons.