Click to Skip Ad
Closing in...

Basement Jaxx Soundtrack For 'Attack The Block' Gets U.K. Release Date

by Kevin Jagernauth
May 3, 2011 4:29 AM
  • |

Scores for films are no longer just the domain for classically driven composers. The past year has seen a crop of electronic-based artists take the reins with Daft Punk and Chemical Brothers powering "Tron: Legacy" and "Hanna," respectively, while Nine Inch Nails frontman Trent Reznor surprised everyone by walking away with an Oscar for his work on "The Social Network." And it's not gonna stop there.

House music icons Basement Jaxx have tuned the forthcoming alien invasion flick "Attack the Block" and the soundtrack -- at least for those of you across the pond -- is right around the corner. The 20-track disc from Simon Ratcliffe and Felix Buxton (as they are credited here thankyouverymuch) with additional music from Steven Price will land on shelves on May 16th, three days after the film opens on May 13th in U.K. cinemas.

As for the rest of us who don't feel like paying import prices -- we'll have to wait. Screen Gems have picked up the film for U.S. distribution and while no release date has been set, we figure they'll build buzz with genre festival screenings (Fantasia, Fantastic Fest, etc.) before getting it into theaters. At any rate, our crew down in SXSW loved it and the rest of us can't wait to catch up. Check out the full tracklist below. [Facebook]

"Attack the Block" Soundtrack Tracklisting

1. The Block
2. Sam Is Mugged
3. Round Two Bruv
4. It's Raining Gollums
5. Tooling Up
6. Moses Is Arrested
7. Tell Me I'm Dreaming
8. Throat Ripper
9. Rooftops
10. Moses - Ninja
11. Just Another Day
12. They Want Moses
13. Actions Have Consequences
14. Eat My Hat - Steven Price
15. They Fell Out Of The Sky - Steven Price
16. I Need To Finish What I Started - Steven Price
17. Turn The Gas Up
18. Moses vs The Monsters
19. Moses The Hero - Steven Price
20. The Ends - Basement Jaxx

  • |

More: Films, Musicians, Attack The Block, Basement Jaxx

Free Indie Movies and Documentaries    


  • tk | September 15, 2011 7:36 AMReply

    yea tha trak 2 the ending of the movie is by __ richie spice - youth dem cold __

  • Mo | August 10, 2011 2:23 AMReply

    Richie Spice - youths dem cold

    I think that might be the track you're asking about Melissa

  • melissÀ | May 14, 2011 11:38 AMReply

    When the film finishes and the writing all going up the screen what was that soundtrack???

  • Ozzie | May 12, 2011 9:16 AMReply

    what was the track at the end called? in the credits bit??

  • bloomy | May 6, 2011 3:54 AMReply

    Preet id like to see u make an album as good as The DOwnward SPiral

  • Preet | May 4, 2011 10:52 AMReply

    Looking forward to this too. Sony Pictures bought that Oscar for Trent Reznor. No way that crappy bimbo Reznor should have won.

  • mykey | May 4, 2011 8:59 AMReply

    what is the age rating for this film?

  • Drew | May 3, 2011 4:45 AMReply

    Thank god. In recent days I've just been going to the official website to listen to the background music.


Email Updates