Click to Skip Ad
Closing in...

'Moonrise Kingdom,' 'Silver Linings,' 'Beasts' & 'Keep The Lights On' Top Spirit Awards Nominations

Photo of Oliver Lyttelton By Oliver Lyttelton | The Playlist November 27, 2012 at 1:41PM

We've barely had time to take a breath since the Gotham Awards were awarded last night, and already we're moving on, because their big cousin, the 28th Annual Film Independent Spirit Awards, revealed their nominations just a few minutes ago.

Best Feature
"Beasts Of The Southern Wild"
"Keep The Lights On"
"Moonrise Kingdom"
"Silver Linings Playbook"

Best Director
Wes Anderson - "Moonrise Kingdom"
Julia Loktev - "The Loneliest Planet"
David O Russell - "Silver Linings Playbook"
Ira Sachs - "Keep The Lights On"
Benh Zeitlin - "Beasts of the Southern Wild"

Best First Feature
"Fill The Void"
"Gimme The Loot"
"Safety Not Guaranteed"
"Sound Of My Voice"
"The Perks Of Being A Wallflower"

John Cassavetes Award
"Breakfast With Curtis"
"The Color Wheel"
"Middle Of Nowhere"
"Mosquita y Mari"

Best Male Lead
Jack Black - "Bernie"
Bradley Cooper - "Silver Linings Playbook"
John Hawkes - "The Sessions"
Thure Lindhart - "Keep The Lights On"
Matthew McConaughey - "Killer Joe"
Wendell Pierce - "Four"

Best Female Lead
Linda Cardenelli - "Return"
Emayatzy Corinealdi - "Middle Of Nowhere"
Jennifer Lawrence - "Silver Linings Playbook"
Quvenzhane Wallis - "Beasts Of The Southern Wild"
Mary Elizabeth Winstead - "Smashed"

Best Supporting Male
Matthew McConaughey - "Magic Mike"
David Oyelowo - "Middle Of Nowhere"
Michael Pena - "End Of Watch"
Sam Rockwell - "Seven Psychopaths"
Bruce Willis - "Moonrise Kingdom"

Best Supporting Female
Rosemarie DeWitt - "Your Sister's Sister"
Ann Dowd - "Compliance"
Helen Hunt - "The Sessions"
Brit Marling - "Sound Of My Voice"
Lorraine Toussaint - "MIddle Of Nowhere"

Best Screenplay
Wes Anderson - "Moonrise Kingdom"
Zoe Kazan - "Ruby Sparks"
Martin McDonagh - "Seven Psychopaths"
David O Russell - "Silver Linings Playbook"
Ira Sachs & Mauricio Zacharias - "Keep The Lights On"

Best First Screenplay
Rama Burshtein - "Fill The Void"
Derek Connolly - "Safety Not Guaranteed"
Christopher Ford - "Robot & Frank
Rashida Jones & Will McCormack - "Celeste & Jesse Forever
Jonathan Lisecki - "Gayby"

Best International Feature
"Once Upon A TIme In Anatolia"
"Rust & Bone"
"War Witch"

Best Documentary
"The Central Park Five"
"How To Survive A Plague"
"The Invisible War"
"Marina Abramovic: The Artist Is Present"
"The Waiting Room"

Best Cinematography
"Beasts Of The Southern Wild"
"End Of Watch"
"Moonrise Kingdom"
"Valley Of The Saints"

Piaget Producers Award
Mynette Louie - "Stones In The Sun"
Derrick Tseng - "Prince Avalanche"
Alicia Van Couvering - "Nobody Walks"

Someone To Watch Award
David Fenster - "Pincus"
Adam Leon - "Gimme The Loot"
Rebecca Thomas - "Electrick Children"

Stella Artois Truer Than Fiction Award
Lucien Castaing-Taylor and Verena Pravel - "Leviathan"
Peter Nicks - "The Waiting Room"
Jasonyyyee Tippet and Elizabeth Mimms - "Only The Young"

Robert Altman Award

This article is related to: Spirit Awards, Awards, The Amazing Race, Moonrise Kingdom, The Silver Linings Playbook, Beasts Of The Southern Wild, Keep the Lights On, Bernie

The Playlist

The obsessives' guide to contemporary cinema via film discussion, news, reviews, features, nostalgia, movie music, soundtracks, DVDs and more.

E-Mail Updates