Click to Skip Ad
Closing in...

'On Stranger Tides' Score Features Hans Zimmer, Rodrigo y Gabriela & Uh, Photek

by Kevin Jagernauth
May 9, 2011 2:50 AM
  • |

Penelope Cruz's Brother Eduardo Also Pitched In On The Soundtrack

While we may not be too excited about "Pirates Of The Caribbean: On Stranger Tides," the score is shaping up to be something memorable. Hans Zimmer continues his work on the franchise, however, as previously reported, he will be joined by the celebrated Mexican guitar duo Rodrigo y Gabriela.

Walt Disney Records has announced the soundtrack for the upcoming film and it has some interesting surprises. Along with the tunes by Zimmer and Rodrigo y Gabriela, there is also a tango co-written by Eduardo Cruz -- yes Penelope's brother -- for a key scene between Captain Jack Sparrow and Angelica. But somewhat bizarrely, the forthcoming disc is closed out by remixes from folks including Photek, Adam Freeland and DJ Earworm. We presume these rejiggered tunes won't be in the final film so we're not sure why they were made at all. Is anyone clamoring for Zimmer remixes? Seems like a strange choice unless the cuts on the score are a lot more funky that we imagined.

Anyway, "On Stranger Tides" premiered at Disneyland over the weekend, sails into Cannes this week and hits your local mulitplex on May 20th. Check out the full tracklist details below.

Track listing
1. "Guilty of Being Innocent of Being Jack Sparrow" -- (written by Hans Zimmer)
2. "Angelica" -- Featuring Rodrigo y Gabriela (written by Hans Zimmer, Eduardo Cruz, Rodrigo Sanchez and Gabriela Quintero)
3. "Mutiny" -- (written by Hans Zimmer)
4. "The Pirate That Should Not Be" -- Rodrigo y Gabriela (written by Rodrigo Sanchez, Gabriela Quintero and Hans Zimmer)
5. "Mermaids" -- (written by Hans Zimmer and Eric Whitacre)
6. "South of Heaven's Chanting Mermaids" -- Rodrigo y Gabriela (written by Rodrigo Sanchez, Gabriela Quintero and Hans Zimmer)
7. "Palm Tree Escape" -- Featuring Rodrigo y Gabriela
8. "Blackbeard" -- (written by Hans Zimmer)
9. "Angry and Dead Again" -- Rodrigo y Gabriela (written by Rodrigo Sanchez, Gabriela Quintero and Hans Zimmer)
10. "On Stranger Tides" -- (written by Hans Zimmer, Geoff Zanelli and Eric Whitacre)
11. "End Credits" -- (written by Hans Zimmer)
12. "Guilty of Being Innocent of Being Jack Sparrow" -- Remixed by DJ Earworm
13. "Angelica (Grant Us Peace Remix)" -- Remixed by Ki:Theory
14. "The Pirate That Should Not Be" -- Remixed by Photek
15. "Blackbeard" -- Remixed by Super Mash Bros & Thieves
16. "South of Heaven's Chanting Mermaids" -- Remixed by Paper Diamond
17. "Palm Tree Escape" -- Remixed by Adam Freeland
18. "Angry and Dead Again" -- Remixed by Static Revenger

Free Indie Movies and Documentaries    


Email Updates