Click to Skip Ad
Closing in...

114 Films Eligible for Best Original Score Oscar

Photo of Ryan Lattanzio By Ryan Lattanzio | TOH! December 12, 2013 at 7:50PM

The Academy has unveiled its list of films eligible for the best original score Oscar. A whopping 114 original scores are in contention. See the full list below. AMPAS will narrow down to the final five when Oscar nominations are announced Thursday, January 16.
More Oscars

The Academy has unveiled its list of films eligible for the best original score Oscar. A whopping 114 original scores are in contention. See the full list below. AMPAS will narrow down to the final five when Oscar nominations are announced Thursday, January 16.

Today, the HFPA nominated "All Is Lost" (Alex Ebert), "Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom" (Alex Heffes), "Gravity" (Steven Price), "The Book Thief" (John Williams) and "12 Years a Slave" (Hans Zimmer) for best original score Golden Globes.

      "Admission," Stephen Trask, composer
      "Ain't Them Bodies Saints," Daniel Hart, composer
      "All Is Lost," Alex Ebert, composer
      "Alone Yet Not Alone," William Ross, composer
      "The Armstrong Lie," David Kahne, composer
      "Arthur Newman," Nick Urata, composer
      "At Any Price," Dickon Hinchliffe, composer
      "Austenland," Ilan Eshkeri, composer
      "Before Midnight," Graham Reynolds, composer
      "The Best Man Holiday," Stanley Clarke, composer
      "The Book Thief," John Williams, composer
      "The Butterfly's Dream," Rahman Altin, composer
      "The Call," John Debney, composer
      "Captain Phillips," Henry Jackman, composer
      "Closed Circuit," Joby Talbot, composer
      "The Company You Keep," Cliff Martinez, composer
      "The Conjuring," Joseph Bishara, composer
      "Copperhead," Laurent Eyquem, composer
      "The Counselor," Daniel Pemberton, composer
      "The Croods," Alan Silvestri, composer
      "Despicable Me 2," Heitor Pereira, composer
      "Elysium," Ryan Amon, composer
      "Ender's Game," Steve Jablonsky, composer
      "Enough Said," Marcelo Zarvos, composer
      "Epic," Danny Elfman, composer
      "Ernest & Celestine," Vincent Courtois, composer
      "Escape from Planet Earth," Aaron Zigman, composer
      "Escape from Tomorrow," Abel Korzeniowski, composer
      "Evil Dead," Roque Baños, composer
      "47 Ronin," Ilan Eshkeri, composer
      "42," Mark Isham, composer
      "Free Birds," Dominic Lewis, composer
      "Free China: The Courage to Believe," Tony Chen, composer
      "Fruitvale Station," Ludwig Goransson, composer
      "G.I. Joe: Retaliation," Henry Jackman, composer
      "Gangster Squad," Steve Jablonsky, composer
      "Gravity," Steven Price, composer
      "The Great Gatsby," Craig Armstrong, composer
      "The Hangover Part III," Christophe Beck, composer
      "Hansel & Gretel Witch Hunters," Atli Örvarsson, composer
      "Haute Cuisine," Gabriel Yared, composer
      "Her," William Butler and Owen Pallett, composers
      "The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug," Howard Shore, composer
      "Hollywood Seagull," Evgeny Shchukin, composer
      "Hours," Benjamin Wallfisch, composer
      "How Sweet It Is," Matt Dahan, composer
      "The Hunger Games: Catching Fire," James Newton Howard, composer
      "Identity Thief," Christopher Lennertz, composer
      "The Incredible Burt Wonderstone," Lyle Workman, composer
      "Insidious: Chapter 2," Joseph Bishara, composer
      "Instructions Not Included," Carlo Siliotto, composer
      "The Internship," Christophe Beck, composer
      "The Invisible Woman," Ilan Eshkeri, composer
      "Iron Man 3," Brian Tyler, composer
      "Jack the Giant Slayer," John Ottman, composer
      "Jobs," John Debney, composer
      "Kamasutra 3D," Sreejith Edavana and Saachin Raj Chelory, composers
      "Labor Day," Rolfe Kent, composer
      "Lee Daniels' The Butler," Rodrigo Leão, composer
      "Live at the Foxes Den," Jack Holmes, composer
      "Love Is All You Need," Johan Söderqvist, composer
      "Mama," Fernando Velázquez, composer
      "Man of Steel," Hans Zimmer, composer
      "Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom," Alex Heffes, composer
      "The Missing Picture," Marc Marder, composer
      "Monsters University," Randy Newman, composer
      "The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones," Atli Örvarsson, composer
      "Mud," David Wingo, composer
      "Murph: The Protector," Chris Irwin and Jeff Widenhofer, composers
      "Now You See Me," Brian Tyler, composer
      "Oblivion," Anthony Gonzalez and Joseph Trapanese, composers
      "Oldboy," Roque Baños, composer
      "Olympus Has Fallen," Trevor Morris, composer
      "Oz The Great and Powerful," Danny Elfman, composer
      "Pacific Rim," Ramin Djawadi, composer
      "Pain & Gain," Steve Jablonsky, composer
      "Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters," Andrew Lockington, composer
      "Philomena," Alexandre Desplat, composer
      "The Place beyond the Pines," Mike Patton, composer
      "Planes," Mark Mancina, composer
      "Prisoners," Jóhann Jóhannsson, composer
      "R.I.P.D.," Christophe Beck, composer
      "Reaching for the Moon," Marcelo Zarvos, composer
      "Romeo & Juliet," Abel Korzeniowski, composer
      "Runner Runner," Christophe Beck, composer
      "Rush," Hans Zimmer, composer
      "Safe Haven," Deborah Lurie, composer
      "Salinger," Lorne Balfe, composer
      "Saving Mr. Banks," Thomas Newman, composer
      "The Secret Life of Walter Mitty," Theodore Shapiro, composer
      "Short Term 12," Joel P. West, composer
      "Side Effects," Thomas Newman, composer
      "The Smurfs 2," Heitor Pereira, composer
      "The Spectacular Now," Rob Simonsen, composer
      "Star Trek Into Darkness," Michael Giacchino, composer
      "Stoker," Clint Mansell, composer
      "Thor: The Dark World," Brian Tyler, composer
      "Tim's Vermeer," Conrad Pope, composer
      "Trance," Rick Smith, composer
      "Turbo," Henry Jackman, composer
      "12 Years a Slave," Hans Zimmer, composer
      "2 Guns," Clinton Shorter, composer
      "The Ultimate Life," Mark McKenzie, composer
      "Unfinished Song," Laura Rossi, composer
      "Wadjda," Max Richter, composer
      "Walking with Dinosaurs," Paul Leonard-Morgan, composer
      "Warm Bodies," Marco Beltrami and Buck Sanders, composers
      "We Steal Secrets: The Story of WikiLeaks," Will Bates, composer
      "We're the Millers," Theodore Shapiro and Ludwig Goransson, composers
      "What Maisie Knew," Nick Urata, composer
      "Why We Ride," Steven Gutheinz, composer
      "The Wind Rises," Joe Hisaishi, composer
      "Winnie Mandela," Laurent Eyquem, composer
      "The Wolverine," Marco Beltrami, composer

This article is related to: Awards, Awards Season Roundup, Academy Awards, Oscars

E-Mail Updates

Festivals on TOH

Thompson on Hollywood

Born and raised in Manhattan, Anne Thompson grew up going to the Thalia and The New Yorker and wound up at grad Cinema Studies at NYU. She worked at United Artists and Film Comment before heading west as that magazine's west coast editor. She wrote for the LA Weekly, Sight and Sound, Empire, The New York Times and Entertainment Weekly before serving as West Coast Editor of Premiere. She wrote for The Washington Post, The London Observer, Wired, More, and Vanity Fair, and did staff stints at The Hollywood Reporter and Variety. She eventually took her blog Thompson on Hollywood to Indiewire. She taught film criticism at USC Critical Studies, and continues to host the fall semester of “Sneak Previews” for UCLA Extension.