Click to Skip Ad
Closing in...

'12 Years a Slave' Wins Best Picture Oscar, 'Gravity' Takes Seven, 'American Hustle' Shut Out (BACKSTAGE QUOTES, FULL WINNERS LIST)

by Anne Thompson
March 3, 2014 3:13 PM
  • |
Nyong'o and McConaughey
Reuters Nyong'o and McConaughey

Best motion picture of the year

  • “12 Years a Slave” 

Performance by an actor in a leading role

  • Matthew McConaughey in “Dallas Buyers Club"

Performance by an actress in a leading role

  • Cate Blanchett in “Blue Jasmine”

Achievement in directing

  • “Gravity” Alfonso Cuarón

Original screenplay

  • “Her” Written by Spike Jonze

Adapted screenplay

  • “12 Years a Slave” Screenplay by John Ridley

Performance by an actress in a supporting role

  • Lupita Nyong’o in “12 Years a Slave”

Performance by an actor in a supporting role

  • Jared Leto in “Dallas Buyers Club”

Best animated feature film of the year

  • “Frozen” Chris Buck, Jennifer Lee and Peter Del Vecho

Achievement in cinematography

  • “Gravity” Emmanuel Lubezki

Achievement in visual effects

  • “Gravity” Tim Webber, Chris Lawrence, Dave Shirk and Neil Corbould

Achievement in costume design

  • “The Great Gatsby” Catherine Martin

Achievement in makeup and hairstyling

  • “Dallas Buyers Club” Adruitha Lee and Robin Mathews

Best animated short film

  • “Mr. Hublot” Laurent Witz and Alexandre Espigares

Best live action short film

  • “Helium” Anders Walter and Kim Magnusson

Best documentary short subject

  • “The Lady in Number 6: Music Saved My Life” Malcolm Clarke and Nicholas Reed

Best documentary feature

  • “20 Feet from Stardom” Morgan Neville

Best foreign language film of the year

  • “The Great Beauty” Italy

Achievement in sound editing

  • “Gravity” Glenn Freemantle

Achievement in sound mixing

  • “Gravity” Skip Lievsay, Niv Adiri, Christopher Benstead and Chris Munro

Achievement in film editing

  • “Gravity” Alfonso Cuarón and Mark Sanger

Achievement in production design

  • “The Great Gatsby” Production Design: Catherine Martin; Set Decoration: Beverley Dunn

Achievement in music written for motion pictures (Original score)

  • “Gravity” Steven Price

Achievement in music written for motion pictures (Original song)

  • “Let It Go” from “Frozen” Music and Lyric by Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez


  • Alfie | March 9, 2014 6:34 AMReply

    So irritating. Why don't you just call Lupita African as you would prefer to. Please respect her enough to correct this nationality mistake. Please!

  • Marshall Anako | March 4, 2014 1:19 AMReply

    DEEJ there is difference is like yu come from America and another person comes from Russia so they are the same?. Pls stop lumping Africa into one country it shows sign of illiteracy .

  • Marshall Anako | March 4, 2014 1:14 AMReply

    I need to correct you on the origin of Lupita Nyong'o, a Nigerian Yale Drama School grad, she is not a Nigerian but Kenyan. Her fellow costar Ejiofor is the one from Nigeria even though he grew up in England.

  • G.T. | March 3, 2014 4:40 PMReply

    Lupita is Kenyan.

  • Deej | March 3, 2014 4:16 PMReply

    Lupita Nyong'o isn't Nigerian. But then again, this is the sort of thing that isn't entirely surprising: "Nigerian, Kenyan, Ethiopian.. what's the difference."

Free Indie Movies and Documentaries    

Email Updates

Most "Liked"

  • Oscar Predicts Chart 2014Oscar Predictions 2015 UPDATE
  • First Gurus 'O Gold Pre-Festival Top ...
  • The Radical World of Avant-Garde Master ...
  • Participant Joins DreamWorks' Spielberg ...
  • Ben Kingsley's Tightrope with Mythology, ...
  • 'Birdman' Debuts at Venice to Rave Reviews: ...
  • Jake Gyllenhaal's 'Nightcrawler' Will ...
  • Sophia Loren to Receive Career-Honoring ...
  • Drafthouse and Participant Media Pick ...
  • Lake Bell Directs Again