Click to Skip Ad
Closing in...

Awards Roundup: San Francisco, Houston, Kansas and Online Film Critics All Award '12 Years a Slave,' Plus More UPDATED

Thompson on Hollywood By Anne Thompson and Ryan Lattanzio | Thompson on Hollywood December 16, 2013 at 12:49PM

A roundup of the recent critics' groups wins from around the US. We're starting to see a pattern emerge, with across-the-board honors for Lupita Nyong'o of "12 Years a Slave," and Jared Leto for his supporting turn in "Dallas Buyers Club."
Nyong'o and Ejiofor in McQueen's '12 Years a Slave'
Nyong'o and Ejiofor in McQueen's '12 Years a Slave'

EARLIER: Over the weekend, the LA Film Critics Association (winners here), the Boston Film Critics and the British Independent Film Awards announced their winners. Yesterday, critics in DC announced their winners (after the jump). 

We're starting to see a pattern of wins across critics voting. Judging from unanimous wins and noms, there's no stopping "Gravity" DP Emmanuel Lubezki on his way to the finish line this awards season. Between NYFCO, LA and Boston, critics are singing the sweet sounds of "Inside Llewyn Davis" in unison. "Act of Killing" keeps winning documentary, and "The Wind Rises" is scoring a lot of animation wins. Ryan Coogler's "Fruitvale Station" keeps landing the first-time filmmaker award.

Critics are also standing tall behind Lupita Nyong'o and "12 Years a Slave" took Best Picture in Boston and from NYFCO. Meanwhile, Jared Leto is picking up honors across the board. 

Across the pond, the British Independent Film Awards have lauded many festival faves awaiting 2014 stateside theatrical premiere, from "Filth" and "The Selfish Giant" to "Metro Manila" and "Starred Up."

Washington DC Film Critics winners below:

Mads Mikkelsen in "The Hunt"
Mads Mikkelsen in "The Hunt."

Best Film:
"12 Years a Slave"

Best Director:
Alfonso Cuaron ("Gravity")

Best Actor:
Chiwetel Ejiofor ("12 Years a Slave")

Best Actress:
Cate Blanchett ("Blue Jasmine")

Best Supporting Actor:
Jared Leto ("Dallas Buyers Club")

Best Supporting Actress:
Lupita Nyong'o ("12 Years a Slave")

Best Acting Ensemble:
"12 Years a Slave"

Best Youth Performance:
Tye Sheridan ("Mud")

Best Adapted Screenplay:
John Ridley ("12 Years a Slave")

Best Original Screenplay:
Spike Jonze ("Her")

Best Animated Feature:

Best Documentary:

Best Foreign Language Film:
"The Broken Circle Breakdown"

Best Art Direction:
Production Designer: Catherine Martin, Set Decorator: Beverley Dunn ("The Great Gatsby")

Best Cinematography:
Emmanuel Lubezki ("Gravity")

Best Editing:
Alfonso Cuaron, Mark Sanger ("Gravity")

Best Original Score:
Hans Zimmer ("12 Years a Slave")

The Joe Barber Award for Best Portrayal of Washington, DC:
"Lee Daniels' The Butler"

Next up: Boston Film Critics winners, below:

This article is related to: Awards, Awards Season Roundup, Critics Groups, Boston Society of Film Critics

E-Mail Updates

Festivals on TOH

Thompson on Hollywood

Born and raised in Manhattan, Anne Thompson grew up going to the Thalia and The New Yorker and wound up at grad Cinema Studies at NYU. She worked at United Artists and Film Comment before heading west as that magazine's west coast editor. She wrote for the LA Weekly, Sight and Sound, Empire, The New York Times and Entertainment Weekly before serving as West Coast Editor of Premiere. She wrote for The Washington Post, The London Observer, Wired, More, and Vanity Fair, and did staff stints at The Hollywood Reporter and Variety. She eventually took her blog Thompson on Hollywood to Indiewire. She taught film criticism at USC Critical Studies, and continues to host the fall semester of “Sneak Previews” for UCLA Extension.