Click to Skip Ad
Closing in...

Awards Roundup: San Francisco, Houston, Kansas and Online Film Critics All Award '12 Years a Slave,' Plus More UPDATED

Thompson on Hollywood By Anne Thompson and Ryan Lattanzio | Thompson on Hollywood December 16, 2013 at 12:49PM

A roundup of the recent critics' groups wins from around the US. We're starting to see a pattern emerge, with across-the-board honors for Lupita Nyong'o of "12 Years a Slave," and Jared Leto for his supporting turn in "Dallas Buyers Club."
'Metro Manila'
'Metro Manila'

Across the pond, The British Independent Film Awards were announced in a ceremony on Sunday, December 8. While Oscar hopeful "Philomena" went home empty-handed, voters love Sean Ellis' Sundance prize-winning "Metro Manila," acquired by Paladin and 108 Media earlier this year for North American distribution in 2014. The film won three top honors including Best Independent Film.

The only Academy contenders to nab prizes were "Blue Is the Warmest Color" and "Captain Phillips" director Paul Greengrass.

Best Independent Film:

"Metro Manila"

Best Director:

Sean Ellis ("Metro Manila")

Best Actress: 

Lindsay Duncan ("Le Week-End")

Best Debut Director:

Paul Wright ("For Those in Peril")

Best Screenplay:

Steven Knight ("Locke")

Best Actor:

James McAvoy ("Filth")

Variety Award:

Paul Greengrass

Best Documentary: 

"Pussy Riot: A Punk Prayer" (Dirs. Mike Lerner, Maxim Pozdorovkin)

Best Achievement in Production:

"Metro Manila"

Best Technical Achievement:

"The Selfish Giant"

Best Supporting Actress:

Imogen Poots ("The Look of Love")

Special Jury Prize:

Ken Loach

Best Supporting Actor:

Ben Mendelsohn ("Starred Up")

Best Short Film:

"Z1" (Dir. Gabriel Gauchet)

Best International Independent Film:

"Blue Is the Warmest Color" (Dir. Abdellatif Kechiche)

Raindance Award:

"The Machine" (Dir. Caradog W. James)

Most Promising Newcomer:

Chloe Pirrie ("Shell")

Richard Harris Award:

Julie Walters


This article is related to: Awards, Awards Season Roundup, Critics Groups, Boston Society of Film Critics

E-Mail Updates