Cate Blanchett in "Blue Jasmine"
Cate Blanchett in "Blue Jasmine"

Best motion picture of the year

  • “12 Years a Slave” 
  • “Gravity” 
  • “American Hustle” 
  • “Captain Phillips” 
  • “Nebraska” 
  • “Philomena”
  • “Dallas Buyers Club”
  • “The Wolf of Wall Street” 
  • “Her” 

Achievement in directing

  • “Gravity” Alfonso Cuarón
  • “12 Years a Slave” Steve McQueen
  • “American Hustle” David O. Russell
  • “The Wolf of Wall Street” Martin Scorsese
  • “Nebraska” Alexander Payne

Performance by an actor in a leading role

  • Matthew McConaughey in “Dallas Buyers Club”
  • Chiwetel Ejiofor in “12 Years a Slave”
  • Bruce Dern in “Nebraska”
  • Leonardo DiCaprio in “The Wolf of Wall Street”
  • Christian Bale in “American Hustle”

Performance by an actor in a supporting role

  • Jared Leto in “Dallas Buyers Club”
  • Michael Fassbender in “12 Years a Slave”
  • Barkhad Abdi in “Captain Phillips”
  • Jonah Hill in “The Wolf of Wall Street”
  • Bradley Cooper in “American Hustle”

Performance by an actress in a leading role

  • Cate Blanchett in “Blue Jasmine”
  • Amy Adams in “American Hustle”
  • Judi Dench in “Philomena”
  • Sandra Bullock in “Gravity”
  • Meryl Streep in “August: Osage County”

Performance by an actress in a supporting role

  • Lupita Nyong’o in “12 Years a Slave”
  • Jennifer Lawrence in “American Hustle”
  • June Squibb in “Nebraska”
  • Sally Hawkins in “Blue Jasmine”
  • Julia Roberts in “August: Osage County”

Adapted screenplay

  • “12 Years a Slave” Screenplay by John Ridley
  • “Philomena” Screenplay by Steve Coogan and Jeff Pope
  • “Captain Phillips” Screenplay by Billy Ray
  • “The Wolf of Wall Street” Screenplay by Terence Winter
  • “Before Midnight” Written by Richard Linklater, Julie Delpy, Ethan Hawke

Original screenplay

  • “Her” Written by Spike Jonze
  • “American Hustle” Written by Eric Warren Singer and David O. Russell
  • “Nebraska” Written by Bob Nelson
  • “Dallas Buyers Club” Written by Craig Borten & Melisa Wallack
  • “Blue Jasmine” Written by Woody Allen

Best animated feature film of the year

  • “Frozen” Chris Buck, Jennifer Lee and Peter Del Vecho
  • “The Croods” Chris Sanders, Kirk DeMicco and Kristine Belson
  • “The Wind Rises” Hayao Miyazaki and Toshio Suzuki
  • “Despicable Me 2” Chris Renaud, Pierre Coffin and Chris Meledandri
  • “Ernest & Celestine” Benjamin Renner and Didier Brunner

Achievement in cinematography

  • “Gravity” Emmanuel Lubezki
  • “Nebraska” Phedon Papamichael
  • “Inside Llewyn Davis” Bruno Delbonnel
  • “Prisoners” Roger A. Deakins
  • “The Grandmaster” Philippe Le Sourd

Achievement in costume design

  • “American Hustle” Michael Wilkinson
  • “The Great Gatsby” Catherine Martin
  • “The Invisible Woman” Michael O’Connor
  • “12 Years a Slave” Patricia Norris
  • “The Grandmaster” William Chang Suk Ping

Best documentary feature

  • “20 Feet from Stardom” Morgan Neville
  • “The Square” Jehane Noujaim and Karim Amer 
  • “The Act of Killing” Joshua Oppenheimer and Signe Byrge Sørensen
  • “Dirty Wars” Richard Rowley and Jeremy Scahill
  • “Cutie and the Boxer” Zachary Heinzerling and Lydia Dean Pilcher

Best documentary short subject

  • “The Lady in Number 6: Music Saved My Life” Malcolm Clarke and Nicholas Reed
  • “Facing Fear” Jason Cohen
  • “CaveDigger” Jeffrey Karoff
  • “Karama Has No Walls” Sara Ishaq
  • “Prison Terminal: The Last Days of Private Jack Hall” Edgar Barens

Achievement in film editing

  • “Gravity” Alfonso Cuarón and Mark Sanger
  • “American Hustle” Jay Cassidy, Crispin Struthers and Alan Baumgarten
  • “Captain Phillips” Christopher Rouse
  • “12 Years a Slave” Joe Walker
  • “Dallas Buyers Club” John Mac McMurphy and Martin Pensa

Best foreign language film of the year

  • “The Great Beauty” Italy
  • “The Hunt” Denmark
  • “The Broken Circle Breakdown” Belgium
  • “Omar” Palestine
  • “The Missing Picture” Cambodia

Achievement in makeup and hairstyling

  • “Dallas Buyers Club” Adruitha Lee and Robin Mathews
  • “Jackass Presents: Bad Grandpa” Stephen Prouty
  • “The Lone Ranger” Joel Harlow and Gloria Pasqua-Casny

Achievement in music written for motion pictures (Original score)

  • “Gravity” Steven Price
  • “Philomena” Alexandre Desplat
  • “Her” William Butler and Owen Pallett
  • “Saving Mr. Banks” Thomas Newman
  • “The Book Thief” John Williams

Achievement in music written for motion pictures (Original song)

  • “Let It Go” from “Frozen” Music and Lyric by Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez
  • “Happy” from “Despicable Me 2” Music and Lyric by Pharrell Williams
  • “Ordinary Love” from “Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom” Music by Paul Hewson, Dave Evans, Adam Clayton and Larry Mullen; Lyric by Paul Hewson
  • “The Moon Song” from “Her” Music by Karen O; Lyric by Karen O and Spike Jonze

Achievement in production design

  • “The Great Gatsby” Production Design: Catherine Martin; Set Decoration: Beverley Dunn
  • “12 Years a Slave” Production Design: Adam Stockhausen; Set Decoration: Alice Baker
  • “Her” Production Design: K.K. Barrett; Set Decoration: Gene Serdena
  • “Gravity” Production Design: Andy Nicholson; Set Decoration: Rosie Goodwin and Joanne Woollard
  • “American Hustle” Production Design: Judy Becker; Set Decoration: Heather Loeffler

Best animated short film

  • “Get a Horse!” Lauren MacMullan and Dorothy McKim
  • “Feral” Daniel Sousa and Dan Golden
  • “Mr. Hublot” Laurent Witz and Alexandre Espigares
  • “Possessions” Shuhei Morita
  • “Room on the Broom” Max Lang and Jan Lachauer

Best live action short film

  • “Avant Que De Tout Perdre (Just before Losing Everything)” Xavier Legrand and Alexandre Gavras
  • “Helium” Anders Walter and Kim Magnusson
  • “The Voorman Problem” Mark Gill and Baldwin Li
  • “Aquel No Era Yo (That Wasn’t Me)” Esteban Crespo
  • “Pitääkö Mun Kaikki Hoitaa? (Do I Have to Take Care of Everything?)” Selma Vilhunen and Kirsikka Saari

Achievement in sound editing

  • “Gravity” Glenn Freemantle
  • “Captain Phillips” Oliver Tarney
  • “The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug” Brent Burge
  • “Lone Survivor” Wylie Stateman
  • “All Is Lost” Steve Boeddeker and Richard Hymns

Achievement in sound mixing

  • “Gravity” Skip Lievsay, Niv Adiri, Christopher Benstead and Chris Munro
  • “Captain Phillips” Chris Burdon, Mark Taylor, Mike Prestwood Smith and Chris Munro
  • “The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug” Christopher Boyes, Michael Hedges, Michael Semanick and Tony Johnson
  • “Inside Llewyn Davis” Skip Lievsay, Greg Orloff and Peter F. Kurland
  • “Lone Survivor” Andy Koyama, Beau Borders and David Brownlow

Achievement in visual effects

  • “Gravity” Tim Webber, Chris Lawrence, Dave Shirk and Neil Corbould
  • “The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug” Joe Letteri, Eric Saindon, David Clayton and Eric Reynolds
  • “Iron Man 3” Christopher Townsend, Guy Williams, Erik Nash and Dan Sudick
  • “The Lone Ranger” Tim Alexander, Gary Brozenich, Edson Williams and John Frazier
  • “Star Trek Into Darkness” Roger Guyett, Patrick Tubach, Ben Grossmann and Burt Dalton