Click to Skip Ad
Closing in...

Academy Picks Key Award Season Dates, Pushes Back Awards Ceremony for 2014, Moves It Up in 2015

Awards
by Anne Thompson
March 25, 2013 2:16 PM
0 Comments
  • |
Oscar statue

At first I wanted to praise the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences for choosing a reasonably late March 2 date for the next live Oscar ceremony, the 86th, on ABC TV in 2014. This unseemly rush to move the ceremony earlier only jams up all the other awards ahead of it and prevents Academy voters from seeing all the films in time, which seems counterproductive to me.

But it turns out the Winter Olympics forced their hand. And then the Academy and ABC go back to an early date, February 22, for the Awards show in 2015. Humph.

Key dates for the Awards season are:

           Saturday, November 16, 2013: The Governors Awards

Monday, December 2, 2013: Official Screen Credits due

Friday, December 27, 2013: Nominations voting begins

Wednesday, January 8, 2014: Nominations voting ends 5 p.m. PT

Thursday, January 16, 2014: Oscar nominations announced

Monday, February 10, 2014: Nominees Luncheon

Friday, February 14, 2014: Final voting begins

Saturday, February 15, 2014: Scientific and Technical Awards

Tuesday, February 25, 2014:  Final voting ends 5 p.m. PT

Oscar Sunday, March 2, 2014: 86th Academy Awards
 
Oscar Sunday, February 22, 2015: 87th Academy Awards

  


Awards
  • |

More: Awards, Awards, Academy Awards, Oscars

0 Comments

Free Indie Movies and Documentaries    

Email Updates

Most "Liked"

  • Why Weinstein Is Re-Releasing Summer ...
  • First Gurus 'O Gold Pre-Festival Top ...
  • Emmy Watch: As TV Enters the Future, ...
  • Emmy Awards: Lena Dunham Wins the Red ...
  • The Radical World of Avant-Garde Master ...
  • Participant Joins DreamWorks' Spielberg ...
  • How David Byrne Collaborated with Jonathan ...
  • WATCH: Live Stream Emmys Red Carpet ...
  • Participant Media, Changing Its Stripes, ...
  • Remembering Actor-Director Richard Attenborough ...