Click to Skip Ad
Closing in...

Academy Reveals 104 Eligible Original Scores for 2012 Oscar Race

by Anne Thompson
December 10, 2012 5:52 PM
  • |

       "Brave," Patrick Doyle, composer
       "Brooklyn Castle," B. Satz, composer
       "Chasing Ice," J. Ralph, composer
       "Chasing Mavericks," Chad Fischer, composer
       "Chicken with Plums," Olivier Bernet, composer
       "Chimpanzee," Nicholas Hooper, composer
       "Cloud Atlas," Reinhold Heil and Johnny Klimek, composers
       "Compliance," Heather McIntosh, composer
       "Contraband," Clinton Shorter, composer
       "The Dark Knight Rises," Hans Zimmer, composer
       "Dark Shadows," Danny Elfman, composer
       "Darling Companion," James Newton Howard, composer
       "Deadfall," Marco Beltrami and Buck Sanders, composers
       "The Dictator," Erran Baron Cohen, composer
       "Dr. Seuss' The Lorax," John Powell, composer
       "End of Watch," David Sardy, composer
       "Ethel," Miriam Cutler, composer
       "Flight," Alan Silvestri, composer
       "For a Good Time, Call..." John Swihart, composer
       "For Greater Glory: The True Story of Cristiada," James Horner, composer
       "Frankenweenie," Danny Elfman, composer
       "Fun Size," Deborah Lurie, composer
       "Girl in Progress," Christopher Lennertz, composer
       "The Grey," Marc Streitenfeld, composer
       "The Guilt Trip," Christophe Beck, composer
       "Hidden Moon," Luis Bacalov, composer
       "Hitchcock," Danny Elfman, composer
       "The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey," Howard Shore, composer
       "Hotel Transylvania," Mark Mothersbaugh, composer
       "House at the End of the Street," Theo Green, composer
       "The Hunger Games," James Newton Howard, composer
       "Hyde Park on Hudson," Jeremy Sams, composer
       "Ice Age Continental Drift," John Powell, composer
       "The Impossible," Fernando Velázquez, composer
       "Jack Reacher," Joe Kraemer, composer
       "John Carter," Michael Giacchino, composer
       "Journey 2: The Mysterious Island," Andrew Lockington, composer
       "Lawless," Nick Cave and Warren Ellis, composers
       "Life of Pi," Mychael Danna, composer
       "Lincoln," John Williams, composer
       "Lola Versus," Will Bates and Philip Mossman, composers
       "Looper," Nathan Johnson, composer
       "The Lucky One," Mark Isham, composer
       "LUV," Nuno Malo, composer
       "The Man with the Iron Fists," RZA and Howard Drossin, composers
       "Marvel's The Avengers," Alan Silvestri, composer
       "The Master," Jonny Greenwood, composer
       "Men in Black 3," Danny Elfman, composer
       "Middle of Nowhere," Kathryn Bostic, composer
       "Mirror Mirror," Alan Menken, composer
       "The Odd Life of Timothy Green," Geoff Zanelli, composer
       "On the Road," Gustavo Santaolalla, composer
       "The Pardon," Ashley Irwin, composer
       "Parental Guidance," Marc Shaiman, composer
       "People Like Us," A.R. Rahman, composer
       "The Possession," Anton Sanko, composer
       "Prometheus," Marc Streitenfeld, composer
       "Promised Land," Danny Elfman, composer
       "The Raid: Redemption," Mike Shinoda and Joseph Trapanese, composers
       "Red Tails," Terence Blanchard, composer
       "Rise of the Guardians," Alexandre Desplat, composer
       "Ruby Sparks," Nick Urata, composer
       "Safe House," Ramin Djawadi, composer
       "Safety Not Guaranteed," Ryan Miller, composer
       "Saint Dracula," Sreevalsan J. Menon, composer
       "Savages," Adam Peters, composer
       "Seeking a Friend for the End of the World," Rob Simonsen and Jonathan Sadoff, composers
       "The Sessions," Marco Beltrami, composer
       "Sinister," Christopher Young, composer
       "Skyfall," Thomas Newman, composer
       "Smashed," Eric D. Johnson and Andy Cabic, composers
       "Snow White and the Huntsman," James Newton Howard, composer
       "Taken 2," Nathaniel Mechaly, composer
       "Ted," Walter Murphy, composer
       "Think Like a Man," Christopher Lennertz, composer
       "This Means War," Christophe Beck, composer
       "A Thousand Words," John Debney, composer
       "The Three Stooges," John Debney, composer
       "Trashed," Vangelis, composer
       "Trouble with the Curve," Marco Beltrami, composer
       "21 Jump Street," Mark Mothersbaugh, composer
       "The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn Part 2," Carter Burwell, composer
       "Until They Are Home," Jamie Dunlap, composer
       "War of the Worlds The True Story," Jamie Hall, composer
       "The Watch," Christophe Beck, composer
       "West of Memphis," Nick Cave and Warren Ellis, composers
       "Where Do We Go Now?" Khaled Mouzanar, composer
       "Won't Back Down," Marcelo Zarvos, composer
       "The Words," Marcelo Zarvos, composer
       "Wreck-It Ralph," Henry Jackman, composer
       "Zero Dark Thirty," Alexandre Desplat, composer

The Academy will send a reminder list of works submitted in the Original Score category with a nominations ballot to all members of the Music Branch, who will vote in the order of their preference for no more than five; they ones with the most votes will become the nominations for final voting for the award, which will be announced on January 10, 2013.

The Academy has strict rules for eligibility:  "the original score must be a substantial body of music that serves as original dramatic underscoring, and must be written specifically for the motion picture by the submitting composer.  Scores diluted by the use of tracked themes or other preexisting music, diminished in impact by the predominant use of songs, or assembled from the music of more than one composer shall not be eligible."

  • |

More: Awards, Awards, Oscars, Lincoln, Argo, Brave


  • Timothy | December 14, 2012 8:34 PMReply

    Go Jamie Hall for WAR OF THE WORLDS THE TRUE STORY. Catch the movie in its qualifying run at the Laemmle Playhouse 7 in Pasadena Dec 18-24.

  • Susan Goforth | December 14, 2012 8:04 PMReply

    Congratulations Jamie Hall for being in the top 104! Your emotional music in the motion picture WAR OF THE WORLDS THE TRUE STORY completes the picture, compliments the story and is, overall, a great triumph!

  • Pedro Canhenha | December 11, 2012 1:36 PMReply

    I love Alexandre Desplat's work but his score for "Argo" was basically the same one he did for Jonathan Glazer's "Birth" from 2004.

  • Kelli | December 11, 2012 10:10 AMReply

    Doesn't Skyfall use some undertones from previous Bond films? Or am I imagining that...?

  • Damien | December 11, 2012 6:35 AMReply

    @ ALEX: Taken doesn't feature music from Drive. It features 2 songs that were also featured in Drive. But what is nominated here isn't the songs but the score written for the film!

  • alex | December 11, 2012 4:04 AMReply

    why is Taken 2 eligible? it had music from drive

  • Nick | December 10, 2012 8:55 PMReply

    Why isn't Tom Tykwer listed as one of Cloud Atlas' composers?

  • Gary | December 10, 2012 8:52 PMReply

    No Paranorman? Boooooo. Jon Brion deserves some cred.

  • Ryan | December 10, 2012 11:42 PM

    I totally agree. His score is one of my favorites for 2012.

Free Indie Movies and Documentaries    

Email Updates

Most "Liked"

  • Leonard Maltin Says Good-Bye to His ...
  • 'Don't Say No Until I Finish Talking,' ...
  • Margaret Atwood Talks Adapting 'MaddAddam' ...
  • 'Trip to Italy' Star Rob Brydon to Host ...
  • Trailers From Hell Takes 'The Trip' ...
  • Showtime Renews Emmy-Nominated 'Masters ...
  • Open Road Films Sets Spring Release ...
  • WATCH: What If Michael Bay Directed ...
  • Sundance Institute and Skywalker Sound ...
  • AFI Directing Workshop for Women Makes ...