206 people like this, be the first of your friends


  • Sightseers


The nominations for the 15th annual Moët British Independent Film Awards were announced today and leading the pack with nine nominations is "Broken," which scored nods for Best Film, Best Director and Best Debut Director for Rufus Norris, Best Actor for Tim Roth and two Best Supporting Actor nominations for Cillian Murphy and Rory Kinnear.

Close behind Norris' murky tale of intertwining households in a north London suburb, which opened Critic's Week at this year's Cannes Film Festival, are "Sightseers" and "Berberian Sound Studio," each picking up seven nominations. Among "Sightseers"' tally are Best Actor and Actress nods for Steve Oram and Alice Lowe, Best Screenplay for Oram, Lowe and Amy Jump and Best Director for Ben Wheatley (who was also nominated last year for "Kill List," our TOH! interview with Wheatley is here). In their black comedy, Oram and Lowe play an oddball British couple who embark on a murder spree during a caravan holiday around Britain. "Berberian Sound Studio" received nominations for Best British Independent Film, Best Director for Peter Strickland and Best Actor for Toby Jones, who stars as a fastidious British sound engineer working on an Italian exploitation film in the 1970s.

The other names up for Best Actress are Andrea Riseborough for "Shadow Dancer," Elle Fanning for "Ginger & Rosa," Judi Dench for "The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel" and Meryl Streep for "The Iron Lady," while Roth, Oram and Jones will be competing against Riz Ahmed for "Ill Manors" and Terence Stamp for "Song For Marion." Vying with Norris for the Douglas Hickox Award for Best Debut Director are Bart Layton for "The Imposter," Ben Drew for "Ill Manors," Rowan Athale for "Wasteland" and Sally El Hosaini for "My Brother The Devil."

Best Supporting Actor nods went to Billy Connolly for "Quartet," Domhnall Gleeson for "Shadow Dancer," Tom Wilkinson for "The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel" as well as the aforementioned Murphy and Kinnear, while the Best Supporting Actress category is made up of Alice Englert for "Ginger & Rosa," Eileen Davies for "Sightseers," Maggie Smith for "The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel," Olivia Colman for "Hyde Park On Hudson" and Vanessa Redgrave for "Song For Marion."

The complete list of nominations is below. This year’s Moët BIFA winners will be decided by a jury that includes producers Alison Owen and Iain Canning, actors Tom Hiddleston, John Boyega and Lesley Sharp and screenwriter Adrian Hodges, and will be announced at an awards ceremony on 9 December hosted by BIFA patron (and star of Peter Jackson's upcoming "Hobbit") James Nesbitt. Full list of nominations below.