Gael Garcia Bernal in "No"
Gael Garcia Bernal in "No"

While films from the Cannes Directors' Fortnight are not given official festival awards, they are honored by organizations. This year, Pablo Larrain's "No," starring Gael Garcia Bernal, a surprise stand-out at Cannes, Merzak Allouache's "El taaib," Noémie Lvovsky's "Camille Rewinds," Fyzal Boulifa's short "The Curse" and Basil da Cunha's short "The Living Also Cry" have each been singled out. Details and synopses below, courtesy of Cannes Quinzaine de Realisateurs.

Art Cinema Award: The CICAE, Confédération Internationale des Cinémas d’Art et d’Essai, gives the Art Cinema Award, prize that helps with film diffusion. The international Jury is composed of independent cinemas programmers.

Jury 2012 : Joanna Lapinska, Albert Wiederspiel and Jimi Andreani

"No,"  Pablo Larraín (Chile, U.S., Mexico)

"El taaib"
"El taaib"
Europa Cinemas: Label aims to enhance the promotion, circulation and box-office runs of European award-winning films on the screens of a cinema network stretching across Europe. Awarded by a jury comprised of Europa Cinemas member exhibitors.

Jury 2012 : Paula Astorga, Francesc Villalonga, Erik Hamre and Sarah Beaufol.

"El taaib (Le Repenti)," Merzak Allouache (Algeria, France)

Prix SACD 2012: La SACD (Société des auteurs et compositeurs dramatiques) honors a French-language feature film in the Directors Fortnight selection.

This film is chosen by a film commission chaired by Bertrand Tavernier, with Gérard Krawczyk, Arthur Joffé, Christine Laurent, Benjamin Legrand et Luc Jabon

"Camille redouble (Camille Rewinds)," Noémie Lvovsky (France)

Premier Prix Illy for Short Filmmaking: The jury, made up of Julie Bertuccelli, President, Carlo Bach, Maureen Loiret, and Patrick Villacampa gave the prize to:

"The Curse," Fyzal Boulifa (U.K., Morroco)

Special Mention

"Os vivos tambem choram (The Living Also Cry)." Basil da Cunha (Switzerland, Portugal)

Synopses below: