Click to Skip Ad
Closing in...

Jane Campion's Cannes Jury Revealed

by Ryan Lattanzio
April 28, 2014 11:56 AM
  • |
Sofia Coppola

The 2014 Cannes Film Festival (May 14-25) is inching ever closer and in spirit, the fest has revealed the eight Competition jury members who will hit the Croisette under president Jane Campion. They are:

Carole BOUQUET (Actress -- France)

Sofia COPPOLA (Director, Screenwriter, Producer

-- United States)

Leila HATAMI (Actress -- Iran)

JEON Do-yeon (Actress-- South Korea)

Willem DAFOE (Actor-- United States)

Gael GARCIA BERNAL (Actor, Director, Producer -- Mexico)

JIA Zhangke (Director, Screenwriter, Producer -- China) 

Nicolas Winding REFN (Director, Screenwriter, Producer -- Denmark)

Wouldn't they make a fun party? Putting that (and any "Hateful Eight" puns) aside, these are eight individuals of great taste and enormous respect in the international film community. And most, if not all, have been to Cannes before. Refn won Best Director for "Drive" in 2011. Jia's "A Touch of Sin" won Best Screenplay last year.

They'll be the judge of the 2014 Cannes Main Competition lineup. The fate of the Palme d'Or is in their hands.


  • scroggins | April 29, 2014 4:14 AMReply

    I'm surprised they're letting Winding Refn on the jury considering the unanimity of disgust that met the film he brought to Cannes last year.

  • Steven | April 28, 2014 4:44 PMReply

    That's not a jury. That's a party! A party of awesomeness. I wish I was in that jury.

Free Indie Movies and Documentaries    

Email Updates

Most "Liked"

  • Which World Premieres Did Venice La ...
  • Parker Posey and Jamie Blackley Will ...
  • Get Tied Down With First Trailer for ...
  • Not Into 'Hercules'? Here Are 6 Alternatives ...
  • Not So Fast: David Lynch Says No New ...
  • Robert Downey, Jr. Starrer 'The Judge' ...
  • Laika Unveiling 'The Boxtrolls' at ...
  • WATCH: First Trailer for Dazzling Festival ...
  • Colin Firth and Mark Strong Spook Nicole ...
  • Aronofsky, Favreau and Murch to Talk ...