Thompson on Hollywood

Robert De Niro will lead the 64th Cannes Film Fest competition jury. They are: actors Jude Law, Uma Thurman and Martina Gusman (Argentina), Chinese producer Nansun Shi, critic/writer Linn Ullmann (Norway), and directors Olivier Assayas (Carlos), Mahamat Saleh Haroun (Chad) and Johnny To (Hong Kong). It's a typically eclectic global mix.

[Photo of De Niro courtesy of Getty]