Click to Skip Ad
Closing in...

FIRST LOOK: Cate Blanchett and Rooney Mara Start an Affair to Remember in Todd Haynes' 'Carol'

Thompson on Hollywood By Beth Hanna | Thompson on Hollywood May 19, 2014 at 1:20PM

Exciting news for fans of Patricia Highsmith, Cate Blanchett, Rooney Mara and Todd Haynes (that about covers everyone, right?). The first image from Haynes' "Carol," the adaptation of Highsmith's landmark lesbian novella "The Price of Salt" (originally published under the pen name Claire Morgan) on the romance between an unassuming shop girl and a glamorous New York socialite, has arrived. Take a look.
0
Carol

Exciting news for fans of Patricia Highsmith, Cate Blanchett, Rooney Mara and Todd Haynes (that about covers everyone, right?). The first image from Haynes' "Carol," the adaptation of Highsmith's landmark lesbian novella "The Price of Salt" (originally published under the pen name Claire Morgan) on the romance between an unassuming shop girl and a glamorous New York socialite, has arrived. Take a look.

Production just wrapped at the end of April for the Weinstein Company title. Kyle Chandler, Sarah Paulson, John Magaro and Carrie Brownstein fill out the supporting cast. Here's the official synopsis:

CAROL follows the relationship between two very different women in 1950s New York. A young woman in her 20s, Therese (Mara) is working in a department store and dreaming of a more fulfilling life when she meets Carol (Blanchett), an alluring woman trapped in a loveless, moneyed marriage. As the story unfolds—their lives begin to unravel with Carol becoming more fearful of losing custody of her daughter in the case of separation when her husband (Chandler) threatens her competence as a mother because of her previous affair with her best friend Abby (Paulson), and new relationship with Therese.

No word yet on a release date, but IMDb has it dated for 2015. 



This article is related to: News, Rooney Mara, Cate Blanchett, News


E-Mail Updates