Click to Skip Ad
Closing in...

Alfonso Cuaron Wins Best Director at DGA Awards (FULL WINNERS LIST)

by Ryan Lattanzio
January 26, 2014 1:58 AM
  • |
Jehane Noujaim

Feature Film:

  • WINNER: Alfonso Cuaron ("Gravity")
  • Paul Greengrass ("Captain Phillips")
  • Steve McQueen ("12 Years a Slave")
  • David O. Russell ("American Hustle")
  • Martin Scorsese ("The Wolf of Wall Street")

Documentary Feature:

  • Zachary Heinzerling ("Cutie and the Boxer")
  • WINNER: Jehane Noujaim ("The Square")
  • Joshua Oppenheimer ("The Act of Killing")
  • Sarah Polley ("Stories We Tell")
  • Lucy Walker ("The Crash Reel")

Comedy Series:

  • Mark Cendrowski, "The Big Bang Theory" (for the episode "The Hofstadter Insufficiency")
  • Bryan Cranston, "Modern Family" (for the episode "The Old Man & the Tree)
  • Gail Mancuso, "Modern Family" (for the episode "My Hero")
  • WINNER: Beth McCarthy-Miller, "30 Rock" (for the episode "Hogcock/Last Lunch")
  • Anthony Rich, "The Big Bang Theory" (for the episode "The Love Spell Potential")

Reality Programs:

  • Matthew Bartley, "The Biggest Loser"
  • WINNER: Neil P. DeGroot, "72 Hours"
  • Paul Starkman, "Top Chef"
  • J. Rupert Thompson, "The Hero"
  • Bertram van Munster, "The Amazing Race"

Variety/Talk/News/Sports -- Specials:

  • Louis C.K., "Louis C.K.: Oh My God"
  • Joel Gallen, "2013 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony"
  • Louis J. Horvitz, "The 55th Annual Grammy Awards"
  • Don Mischer, "The 85th Annual Academy Awards"
  • WINNER: Glenn Weiss, "The 67th Annual Tony Awards"

Children's Programs:

  • Stephen Herek, "Jinxed"
  • Jeffrey Hornaday, "Teen Beach Movie"
  • Jonathan Judge, "Swindle"
  • WINNER: Amy Schatz, "An Apology to Elephants"
  • Adam Weissman, "A.N.T. Farm"


  • Dave Diomedi, "Late Night with Jimmy Fallon"
  • Andy Fisher, "Jimmy Kimmel Live"
  • Jim Hoskinson, "The Colbert Report"
  • WINNER: Don Roy King, "SNL"
  • Chuck O'Neil, "The Daily Show"

Movie for TV and Miniseries:

  • Stephen Frears, "Muhammad Ali's Greatest Fight"
  • David Mamet, "Phil Spector"
  • Beth McCarthy-Miller & Rob Ashford ("The Sound of Music Live!")
  • Nelson McCormick, "Killing Kennedy"
  • WINNER: Steven Soderbergh, "Behind the Candelabra"

Dramatic Series:

  • Bryan Cranston, "Breaking Bad" (for the episode "Blood Money")
  • David Fincher, "House of Cards" (for the episode "Chapter 1")
  • WINNER: Vince Gilligan, "Breaking Bad" (for the episode "Felina")
  • Lesli Linka Glatter, "Homeland" (for the episode "The Star")
  • David Nutter, "Game of Thrones" (for the episode "The Rain of Castamere")


  • Fredrik Bond, "Voyage" for Heineken and "From the Future" for Johnny Walker
  • John X. Carey, "Real Beauty Sketches" for Dove
  • WINNER: Martin de Thurah, "The Man Who Couldn't Slow Down" for Hennessy and "Human Race" for Acura
  • Matthijs van Heijningen, "Perfect Day" for Playstation and "48" for Verizon"
  • Noam Murro, "Basketball" for Guinness and "Kids" for DIRECTV and "Mask" for VW

Franklin J Schaffner Achievement Award: Vincent DeDario (presented by Keith Jackson)

Robert B. Aldrich Award for Service: Steven Soderbergh

Frank Capra Achievement Award: Lee Blaine

Diversity Award: Shonda Rhimes & Betsy Beers


  • Alicia | January 26, 2014 4:03 AMReply

    I'm really happy that Cuaron won the DGA. He is a genius ( yOu could add Lubezki on a short list with a couple more of names of people that are doing really extraordinary things this past few years) You could like or not the plot (or just could`t see the many different subplots on it) but this is a breakthrough kind of film. This people made a milestone. It will be subject of study on Visual & Arts Universities! Personally, I feel that it's not right that a movie that doesn't have the best director ( plus cinematography, sound, editing, FX, and so on) could possibly win as BP... Just a personal thought...
    Plus Cuaron is the kindest, coolest down to earth dude out there.! Zero directorial ego.
    Really happy for him

  • Steve Barr | January 26, 2014 2:46 AMReply

    I was happy Scorsese didn't win . He didn't even deserve to be nominated .

  • Steve | January 28, 2014 6:08 AM

    Scorsese was very, very upset as well. After he partied with celebrities he went home to his mansion and slept on a large pile of money with many beautiful women. We should pity him.

Free Indie Movies and Documentaries    

Email Updates

Most "Liked"

  • 'Frank,' Starring Michael Fassbender ...
  • WATCH: William H. Macy Directs Billy ...
  • TIFF WATCH: Simon Pegg & Peter Chelsom ...
  • TCM Remembers Lauren Bacall with 24-Hour ...
  • Kickstarter Film Festival Hits Los ...
  • 'Legends': Twisty Sean Bean Spy Series ...
  • Every Hitchcock Cameo (IN ONE VIDEO ...
  • TIFF Brings International Trailblazers ...
  • Heads Up, Documentary Filmmakers: Sundance ...
  • Bill Paxton Returns to History Channel ...