'American Hustle'
'American Hustle'

At the 64th annual American Cinema Editors Awards for outstanding editing on Friday night, four Oscar contenders took home the coveted Eddie, which often presages Oscar wins. The editors handed out trophies in ten categories of film, television and documentaries.   

“Captain Phillips” (edited by Christopher Rouse, A.C.E.) beat out "Gravity" for Best Edited Feature Film (Dramatic), while “American Hustle” (edited by Jay Cassidy, A.C.E., Crispin Struthers & Alan Baumgarten, A.C.E.) won Best Edited Feature Film (Comedy/Musical).  Oscar frontrunners “Frozen” (edited by Jeff Draheim) took Best Edited Animated Feature Film and “20 Feet From Stardom”  (edited by Douglas Blush, Kevin Klauber & Jason Zeldes) took Best Edited Documentary (Feature) respectively.

Which leaves the Oscar race as murky as ever. Only the PGA offers all nine Oscar Best Picture nominees in one category. The Guilds split things up. 

Television winners included ”The Office – Finale” (edited by David Rogers & Claire Scanlon) for Best Edited Half-Hour Series for Television, “Breaking Bad – Felina” (edited by Skip MacDonald, A.C.E.) for Best Edited One-Hour Series for Commercial television,  “Homeland – Big Man in Tehran” (edited by Terry Kelley, A.C.E.) for Best Edited One-Hour Series for Non-Commercial Television, “Behind The Candelabra” (edited by Mary Ann Bernard)for Best Edited Miniseries or Motion Picture for Television, and “Anthony Bourdain – Parts Unknown:  Tokyo” (edited by Nick Brigden) for Best Edited Non-Scripted Series. In the Best Edited Documentary (Television) category, which was newly created last year, “The Assassination of President Kennedy” (edited by Chris A. Peterson) took top honors.

Paul Greengrass received the ACE Golden Eddie Filmmaker of the Year honor presented to him by his “Captain Phillips” star Tom Hanks. Other filmmakers who have received ACE’s highest honor include Norman Jewison, Francis Ford Coppola, Clint Eastwood, Robert Zemeckis, Alexander Payne, Ron Howard, Martin Scorsese, George Lucas, Kathleen Kennedy, Steven Spielberg and Richard Donner, among others.

Hanks introduced Greengrass by suggesting that he documents "uncomfortable truths" time and again in his movies. On "Captain Phillips," Greengrass once again played the role of journalist, filmmaker and troublemaker. The cinematic theology of Greengrass is all in the footage, according to Hanks, and that's "where long lens beauty turns into long lens reality."

Greengrass, meanwhile, graciously thanked all of his editors, particularly Rouse. He referred to them as authors and recalled his first stint at Granada as a 21-year-old when he was overwhelmed by a box of trims handed to him by an editor who dashed off to lunch. He described film as an unruly animal and said the paradox of directing is that "it will tell you what it wants to be, and you must tell it what you want it to be."

Lifetime Career Achievement Awards went to industry veterans Richard Halsey, A.C.E. and Robert C. Jones with the Dean of the UCLA School of Theater, Film and Television Teri Schwartz presenting to Halsey and Warren Beatty presenting to Jones. The rarely given Heritage Award was presented by ACE President Alan Heim, A.C.E. to Randy Roberts, A.C.E. for his commitment to the organization.  

Among the evening’s presenters were Beatty, Hanks, Leonardo DiCaprio, Will Forte, June Squibb, Peter Krause, Hamish Linklater, Sarah Paulson, James Wolk, Walter Murch, Michiel Huisman and Steve Coogan.  Serving as Master of Ceremonies was actor Bob Odenkirk.  

A full list of winners follows: