Focus Forward Filmmaker Competition Names Five Jury Prize Winners; Grand Prize Announced at Sundance

by Beth Hanna
January 7, 2013 2:07 PM
  • |

Barbara Kopple FOCUS FORWARD
The five jury-prize winners of the $200,000 Focus Forward Filmmaker competition have been announced. The Grand Jury Prize of $100,000 will be announced at a live awards ceremony on January 22 at the 2013 Sundance Film Festival. Full list of names and projects below.

The five jury prize winners are:

Callum Cooper (“Mine Kafon”)

Kim Munsamy (“Bones Don’t Lie And Don’t Forget”)

Paul Lazarus (“Slingshot”)

Jared P. Scott and Kelly Nyks (“The Artificial Leaf”)

Rafel Duran Torrent (“Cyborg Foundation”)

In the Focus Forward "Short Films, Big Ideas" competition, participating filmmakers submit three-minute films featuring stories about people or organizations whose innovative efforts in medicine, computer science, robotics, engineering, green energy, or other fields of art and knowledge have had a significant positive impact on humanity. Last fall, a selection of 95 semifinalist competition films were made available online to a global audience through Vimeo; 10 audience favorites, based on a tally of public online votes, were announced on December 21.

Read more about the competition here, and check out the Focus Forward doc initiative trailer here.

You might also like:


Free Indie Movies and Documentaries    

Email Updates

Most "Liked"

  • LISTEN: On KCRW's The Treatment, Mindy ...
  • Brad Pitt to Star in David Michôd's ...
  • Arthouse Audit: 'Only Lovers Left Alive' ...
  • Fox's Jim Gianopulos to Deliver USC ...
  • Pulitzer Prize Winners Unveiled
  • The Highs and Lows of the Meaningless ...
  • Watch: Highlights from Seth Rogen's ...
  • Box Office Top Ten: 'Captain America' ...
  • Career Watch: As 'Mad Men' Enters Its ...
  • WATCH: Guillermo Arriaga's Anthology ...