J.J. Abrams to Receive Producers Guild's 2013 Norman Lear Award [Abrams Clips]

by Beth Hanna
November 5, 2012 2:18 PM
  • |

The Producers Guild of America will honor J.J. Abrams with the 2013 Norman Lear Achievement Award in Television, which will be presented to the writer-director-producer at their 24th annual awards ceremony on January 26.

Producers Guild Awards Chair Michael DeLuca says;

“J.J. Abrams has produced some of the most iconic and highest-rated television shows of the past decade and longer, series that have changed the landscape of television. His talent is astonishing, and through his commitment to ingenious storytelling, compelling characters and television programming of the highest quality, he truly lives up to this award’s namesake.”

Abrams says; “It is an incredible honor to be asked to accept the Producers Guild Norman Lear Award, especially since Mr. Lear is one of my true heroes. I feel privileged to be included among the prestigious list of past recipients."

Last year's recipient of the Norman Lear award was Don Mischer. Tom Hanks, Jerry Bruckheimer, Lorne Michaels and Aaron Spelling have also received the award.

Below, a stroll down Memory Lane with clips and trailers of some shows and films that put Abrams on the map.

  • |

More: J. J. Abrams, News, Awards

You might also like:


Free Indie Movies and Documentaries    

Email Updates

Most "Liked"

  • LISTEN: On KCRW's The Treatment, Mindy ...
  • Brad Pitt to Star in David Michôd's ...
  • Arthouse Audit: 'Only Lovers Left Alive' ...
  • Fox's Jim Gianopulos to Deliver USC ...
  • Pulitzer Prize Winners Unveiled
  • The Highs and Lows of the Meaningless ...
  • Watch: Highlights from Seth Rogen's ...
  • Box Office Top Ten: 'Captain America' ...
  • Career Watch: As 'Mad Men' Enters Its ...
  • WATCH: Guillermo Arriaga's Anthology ...