Click to Skip Ad
Closing in...

Jameson Empire Award Voters Favor British Home Team

Photo of Anne Thompson By Anne Thompson | Thompson on Hollywood March 30, 2014 at 4:28PM

Movie fans from the UK and other countries vote for the annual Jameson Empire Awards, which honor blockbusters, indies and British films alike. This year they went overboard for the home team.

The Jameson Empire Awards 2014 Winners*

EMPIRE 25th AWARD: The Legend of Our Lifetime

Presented by: Rosamund Pike

Tom Cruise

EMPIRE 25th AWARD: The Action Hero of Our Lifetime

Presented by: Jonathan Ross

Arnold Schwarzenegger

EMPIRE ICON presented by Jameson Irish Whiskey

Presented by: Darren Aronofsky

Hugh Jackman


Presented by: JJ Abrams

Simon Pegg

EMPIRE INSPIRATION presented by Mazda Motors UK

Presented by: Brian Cox

Paul Greengrass

Best Male Newcomer presented by Tresor Paris

Presented by: Sarah Harding

·         Aidan Turner (The Hobbit: The Desolation Of Smaug)

Best Female Newcomer presented by Max Factor

Presented by: Richard Armitage

·         Margot Robbie (The Wolf Of Wall Street)

Best Horror

Presented by: MyAnna Buring

·         The Conjuring

Best Comedy presented by Magic 105.4

Presented by: The Inbetweeners cast

·         Alan Partridge: Alpha Papa

Best Thriller presented by Quaglino’s

Presented by: Stacy Martin & Jamie Campbell Bower

·         The Hunger Games: Catching Fire

Best Sci-Fi/Fantasy presented by MediCinema

Presented by: Sophie Turner & Thomas Brodie-Sangster

·         The Hobbit: The Desolation Of Smaug

Best Supporting Actor presented by The National Lottery

Presented by: Celia Imrie

·         Michael Fassbender (12 Years A Slave)

Best Supporting Actress

Presented by: Richard E Grant

·         Sally Hawkins (Blue Jasmine)

Best British Film

Presented by: Mark Gatiss

·         The World’s End

Best Actress presented by Max Factor

Presented by: Stephen Fry

·         Emma Thompson (Saving Mr. Banks)

Jameson Best Actor

Presented by: Kate Beckinsale

·         James McAvoy (Filth)

Best Director presented by Air New Zealand

Presented by: Logan Lerman & Douglas Booth

·         Alfonso Cuarón (Gravity)

Best Film presented by Sky Movies

Presented by: Professor Brian Cox

·         Gravity


Presented by: Edith Bowman, Ben Wheatley, Alex Zane

David Smith, There Will Be Blood

This article is related to: Gravity, James McAvoy, Emma Thompson, Steve Coogan, Michael Fassbender, Empire Magazine, Awards, Awards, Tom Cruise, Alfonso Cuaron

E-Mail Updates

Thompson on Hollywood

Born and raised in Manhattan, Anne Thompson grew up going to the Thalia and The New Yorker and wound up at grad Cinema Studies at NYU. She worked at United Artists and Film Comment before heading west as that magazine's west coast editor. She wrote for the LA Weekly, Sight and Sound, Empire, The New York Times and Entertainment Weekly before serving as West Coast Editor of Premiere. She wrote for The Washington Post, The London Observer, Wired, More, and Vanity Fair, and did staff stints at The Hollywood Reporter and Variety. She eventually took her blog Thompson on Hollywood to Indiewire. She taught film criticism at USC Critical Studies, and continues to host the fall semester of “Sneak Previews” for UCLA Extension.