Click to Skip Ad
Closing in...

Cannes: 'Winter Sleep' Wins the Palme d'Or, Full List of Awards (UPDATED)

Photo of Anne Thompson By Anne Thompson | Thompson on Hollywood May 24, 2014 at 1:42PM

On the closing night of the Cannes Film Festival critics' fave "Winter Sleep" directed by Nuri Bilge Ceylon, won the Palme D'Or. Full list of winners and press conference quotes are here.
'Winter Sleep'
'Winter Sleep'
The scene at the Cannes Film Festival.
The scene at the Cannes Film Festival.

Not surprisingly, critics' fave "Winter Sleep" directed by Nuri Bilge Ceylon, won the Cannes Palme D'Or Saturday. (Our review here.)

Lead contenders were Mike Leigh's "Mr. Turner," starring Timothy Spall, who was the favorite to win Best Actor; Bennett Miller's "Foxcatcher," which won best director; the Dardennes' "Two Days, One Night," starring Best Actress contender Marion Cotillard, who was also overlooked for Jacques Audiard's "Rust & Bone." In an upset, Julianne Moore took home the prize for David Cronenberg's "Maps to the Stars," which was better received by the Europeans than the North American press. Also passed over was Anne Dorval, star of 25-year-old Xavier Dolan's "Mommy,"  which shared the jury prize with 83-year-old Jean-Luc Godard's "Goodbye to Language."

Timothy Spall in 'Mr. Turner'
Timothy Spall in 'Mr. Turner'

Sony Pictures Classics' Michael Barker and Tom Bernard were happy, as they are releasing three of the award-winners, fest hits "Foxcatcher," "Mr. Turner" and "Leviathan," which they picked up at the festival. 

It all came down to the jury, led by president Jane Campion, the only woman in 67 years to win the Palme d'Or ("The Piano"), who told me the other night she had some favorites she would fight for. The rest of the jury includes Jeon Do-yeon (the only Korean actress to win Best Actress, for "Secret Sunshine"), Leila Hatami (star of Iran's "A Separation," who has been threatened by her countrymen for kissing Cannes' retiring director Gilles Jacob on the cheek), Sofia Coppola (Cannes entries "Marie Antoinette" and "The Bling Ring"), French actress Carole Bouquet, Danish director Nicolas Winding Refn (who won best director for "Drive" and showed "Only God Forgives" last year), Jia Zhangke ("Touch of Sin" won best screenplay in 2013), producer/star Gael Garcia Bernal ("No" played Director's Fortnight), and Willem Dafoe ("Light Sleeper"). 

While Alice Rohrwacher's "The Wonders" won the Grand Prix, gender had nothing to do with it, Campion insisted at the post-awards press conference. "The gender of the filmmaker never entered our discussions once," she said, adding that each award demanded a majority of secret votes, literally thrown into an ice bucket.

Julianne Moore
Julianne Moore

Two films shared the jury prize. "I loved 'Mommy,'" Campion said. "It's a great brilliant modern film from such a young director, like a genius, I think. When I saw the Godard film, I wasn't expecting this. I was blown away by it. I loved the experience of the film, I found it so modern, like the fact that he throws a narrative away. It's like a power, I found myself awakened, this is a free man, a very moving man. We coupled them, we were aware that they were the oldest and youngest director. The directors here know we owe our life's blood to Godard. It's so wonderful that we had this opportunity to heartfully give him a prize. I wished the dog would have come and got it. We would have given him the Golden Bone."

Here is the list of winners:

Xavier Dolan
Xavier Dolan

Palme d’Or: "Winter Sleep," Director: Nuri Bilge Ceylan

Grand Prix: "The Wonders," Director: Alice Rohrwacher

Prix de la Mise en Scene (best director): Bennett Miller, "Foxcatcher"

Prix du Scenario (best screenplay): "Leviathan," Writers: Andrey Zvyaginstev and Oleg Negin

Camera d’Or (best first feature): "Party Girl," Directors: Marie Amachoukeli, Claire Burger and Samuel Theis (feature here)

Prix du Jury (jury prize): "Mommy," Director: Xavier Dolan; and "Goodbye to Language," Director: Jean-Luc Godard

Prix d’interpretation feminine (best actress): Julianne Moore, "Maps to the Stars"

Prix d’interpretation masculine (best actor):  Timothy Spall, "Mr. Turner"

This article is related to: Cannes Film Festival, Cannes, Mr. Turner , Foxcatcher, Timothy Spall, Marion Cotillard, Video, Video, TV Videos, Awards, Festivals

E-Mail Updates

Thompson on Hollywood

Born and raised in Manhattan, Anne Thompson grew up going to the Thalia and The New Yorker and wound up at grad Cinema Studies at NYU. She worked at United Artists and Film Comment before heading west as that magazine's west coast editor. She wrote for the LA Weekly, Sight and Sound, Empire, The New York Times and Entertainment Weekly before serving as West Coast Editor of Premiere. She wrote for The Washington Post, The London Observer, Wired, More, and Vanity Fair, and did staff stints at The Hollywood Reporter and Variety. She eventually took her blog Thompson on Hollywood to Indiewire. She taught film criticism at USC Critical Studies, and continues to host the fall semester of “Sneak Previews” for UCLA Extension.