Click to Skip Ad
Closing in...

London Film Critics' Circle Honors Nicolas Roeg

Photo of Jacob Combs By Jacob Combs | Thompson on Hollywood December 3, 2011 at 11:39AM

London Film Critics' Circle Honors Nicolas Roeg
Nicolas Roeg
Nicolas Roeg

The London Film Critics' Circle have chosen British filmmaker Nicolas Roeg for their Dilys Powell Award for Excellence in Film. Roeg is a director and visual artist who developed an experimental style through films such as "Performance" and "Don't Look Now."  A polymath filmmaker, Roeg's talents include writing, directing, editing, composing and cinematography.

Roeg was surprised at the news: "I'm sure the critics will understand when I say, on looking through and reading some of my old reviews, I'm torn between thanking you and forgiving you."

Past recipients of the Powell award include Richard Attenborough, Mike Leigh, Judi Dench and Quentin Tarantino. The LFCC will present with the award on January 19th, when the critics will also announce their full list of annual award winners.

This article is related to: Awards, Awards, Critics, Critics Groups

E-Mail Updates

Festivals on TOH