Milos Forman to Receive Directors Guild's Lifetime Achievement Award, 'One of the Greatest Filmmakers of Our Time'

by Sophia Savage
November 28, 2012 4:29 PM
  • |

Norman Jewison (2010)
Clint Eastwood (2006)
Mike Nichols (2004)
Martin Scorsese (2003)
Steven Spielberg (2000)
Francis Ford Coppola (1998)
Stanley Kubrick (1997)
Woody Allen (1996)
James Ivory (1995)
Robert Altman (1994)
Sidney Lumet (1993)
Akira Kurosawa (1992)
Ingmar Bergman (1990)
Robert E. Wise (1988)
Elia Kazan (1987)
Joseph L. Mankiewicz (1986)
Billy Wilder (1985)
Orson Welles (1984)
John Huston (1983)
Rouben Mamoulian (1982)
George Cukor (1981)
William A. Wellman (1973)
David Lean (1973)
Fred Zinnemann (1970)
Alfred Hitchcock (1968)
William Wyler (1966)
Frank Borzage (1961)
George Stevens (1960)
Frank Capra (1959)
King Vidor (1957)
Henry King (1956)
John Ford (1954)
Cecil B. DeMille (1953)

  • |

More: Directors, Awards, Awards, Classics

You might also like:


  • Bruce Baert | November 29, 2012 9:55 AMReply

    First off, great, interesting and informative article. Second, 'Cuckoo's Nest' was a special film that needed special directing, and it got it in Forman. The complete winning package it was: Screenplay, casting, acting, editing, and even produding (one of two producers was Michael Douglas), it had it all...For only $4.4 million. Great film and a great director. It's about time.

  • Ted | November 28, 2012 7:52 PMReply

    I've always preferred his Czech films (especially Loves of a Blonde) to his American stuff. I always thought his Americans films were unimpressive, at least relative to Loves of a Blonde and Fireman's Ball.

  • Bruce Baert | November 29, 2012 11:03 AM

    How truly high and mighty of you, not to mention haughty taught and elitist.

  • Bruce Baert | November 29, 2012 10:10 AM

    Gimme a break "Ted!" When people don't know about film, they say something ignorant like that, thinking one's' earlier, foreign or home country, and smaller indie films are the only ones to admire. With monumental films like 'Cuckoo's Nest' and "Amadeus," to say Milos Forman's American Films were unimpressive is like a Czech saying Steven Spielberg's American films are unimpressive. Besides, like Roman Polanski, Forman is "truly an international filmmaker."

Free Indie Movies and Documentaries    

Email Updates

Most "Liked"

  • LISTEN: On KCRW's The Treatment, Mindy ...
  • Brad Pitt to Star in David Michôd's ...
  • Arthouse Audit: 'Only Lovers Left Alive' ...
  • Fox's Jim Gianopulos to Deliver USC ...
  • Pulitzer Prize Winners Unveiled
  • The Highs and Lows of the Meaningless ...
  • Watch: Highlights from Seth Rogen's ...
  • Box Office Top Ten: 'Captain America' ...
  • Career Watch: As 'Mad Men' Enters Its ...
  • WATCH: Guillermo Arriaga's Anthology ...