Thompson on Hollywood

The 26th annual Don and Gee Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting competition is accepting entries until May 2. So get writing if you haven't earned more than $5,000 from the sale or option of a screen or teleplay, or haven't received another fellowship or prize of more than $5,000.

Feature length original works, written in English and from up to two authors are eligible. Each year, the Nicholl Fellowship awards up to five $30,000 awards. Starting in 1985, 118 fellowships have been awarded. Among the past recipients are Oscar® nominee Susannah Grant (The Soloist, Erin Brockovich, Pocahontas), Doug Atchison (Akeelah and the Bee), Mike Rich (Secretariat, The Rookie, Finding Forrester), Ehren Kruger (Transformers: Dark of the Moon, The Ring, Arlington Road) and Andrew Marlowe (ABC's Castle, Hollow Man, Air Force One).

Eligibility Details:

The Nicholl competition is open to any individual who has not earned more than $5,000 from the sale or option of a screenplay or teleplay, or received a fellowship or prize of more than $5,000 that includes a "first look" clause, an option or any other quid pro quo involving the writer's work.  To enter, writers must submit a completed online application, upload one PDF copy of their original screenplay in English and pay the US$45 entry fee before 11:59 p.m. PT on May 2, 2011.

[Pictured: 2010 winners, courtesy of the Academy]