Oscar Watch: American Society of Cinematographers Nominate Best of 2012

by Anne Thompson
January 9, 2013 12:49 PM
  • |

The American Society of Cinematographers has spoken--and their nominations exactly match those of the BAFTAs.
They have picked Brits Danny Cohen ("Les Miserables") and Roger Deakins ("Skyfall"), and Irish Seamus McGarvey ("Anna Karenina"), Chilean/American Claudio Miranda ("Life of Pi") and Polish/American Janusz Kaminski ("Lincoln") to compete in the feature film category of their 27th Annual ASC Awards for Outstanding Achievement. The winner will be announced at the ASC Awards celebration on February 10 at the Hollywood & Highland Grand Ballroom.
Deakins has now earned 11 ASC nominations: he won for" The Shawshank Redemption" (1995) and "The Man Who Wasn’t There" (2002) but is overdue for an Oscar win after nine nominations to date.
This is Kaminski’s fifth ASC nomination after Spielberg's "Schindler’s List" (1994), "Amistad" (1998), and "Saving Private Ryan" (1999) and Julian Schnabel's "The Diving Bell and the Butterfly" (2008). He won Oscars for "Schindler" and "Ryan."
Cohen ("The King's Speech"), McGarvey ("Atonement") and Miranda ("The Curious Case of Benjamin Button") have all been recognized by the ASC once before. 

  • |

More: Awards, Awards, Oscars

You might also like:


  • Andrew Littlefield | February 1, 2013 8:14 AMReply

    People interested in Oscar history may enjoy my blog:


  • Francois | January 28, 2013 11:30 PMReply

    I hope Roger Deakins gets it, "Skyfall" was gorgeous! But "Les Mis" cinematography was truly atrocious...

  • dummy | January 9, 2013 7:58 PMReply

    mihai for the master that shit was great

  • dummy | January 9, 2013 7:58 PMReply

    mihai for the master that shit was great

  • E | January 9, 2013 1:34 PMReply

    Seamus McGarvey is Irish, not british.

Free Indie Movies and Documentaries    

Email Updates

Most "Liked"

  • LISTEN: On KCRW's The Treatment, Mindy ...
  • Brad Pitt to Star in David Michôd's ...
  • Arthouse Audit: 'Only Lovers Left Alive' ...
  • Fox's Jim Gianopulos to Deliver USC ...
  • Pulitzer Prize Winners Unveiled
  • The Highs and Lows of the Meaningless ...
  • Watch: Highlights from Seth Rogen's ...
  • Box Office Top Ten: 'Captain America' ...
  • Career Watch: As 'Mad Men' Enters Its ...
  • Brie Larson Goes Into the 'Room,' Lenny ...