Click to Skip Ad
Closing in...

San Francisco International Film Fest Winners Include 'History of Fear,' 'Overnighters' and More

Thompson on Hollywood By Anne Thompson and Ryan Lattanzio | Thompson on Hollywood May 8, 2014 at 3:05PM

The San Francisco International Film Festival announced winners of the juried Golden Gate Award and New Directors Prize competitions Thursday evening, awarding nearly $40,000 in prizes to up-and-coming, as well as established, international filmmakers.
'History of Fear'
'History of Fear'

The 57th San Francisco International Film Festival finally wraps up Thursday night. But they've already announced the winners of the juried Golden Gate Award and New Directors Prize competitions, awarding nearly $40,000 in prizes to up-and-coming, as well as established, international filmmakers. 

Over the course of this year's 15-day go-round, led by new San Francisco Film Society executive director Noah Cowan and festival programmer Rachel Rosen, the fest played 168 films (74 of which were narrative features, 29 documentaries and 65 shorts), with 56 countries represented and 40 different languages; 3 World Premieres, 5 North American Premieres and 5 U.S. Premieres; with some 200 filmmakers and industry guests attending. The SFIFF tributed award-winners Disney/Pixar animation czar John Lasseter, Richard Linklater, who wowed a packed Castro Theatre with "Boyhood," writer-director Steve Gaghan ("Syriana"), Jeremy Irons (the new Alfred in the next Batman vs. Superman movie) and critic David Thomson ("The Biographical History of Film"). (Here's our mid-week awards-night coverage.) 

Gia Coppola's "Palo Alto," which arrives in theaters May 9, was the fest's centerpiece gala (we talk to the rookie director and her cast here).

The New Directors Prize went to "History of Fear," from director Benjamin Naishtat, the Argentine sociological thriller that premiered in Berlin earlier this year. Jury members were Filmmaker Magazine Editor-in-Chief Scott Macaulay, Fandor cofounder Jonathan Marlow and critic Ella Taylor.

Special Jury Recognition prizes under the New Directors jury went to the African-set neo-noir "White Shadow," by Israeli director Noaz Deshe, and "The Amazing Catfish," Mexican helmer Claudia Sainte-Luce's comedy-drama.

The Golden Gate Award for documentary feature went to Jesse Moss's Sundance award winner "The Overnighters." It portrays the plight of desperate men as they pursue a better life in the North Dakota oil fields while a devoted pastor risks everything to help them.

The Documentary feature jury was made up of Rob Epstein (filmmaker), Nathan Heller (journalist) and Film Society of Lincoln Center Co-Executive Director Lesli Klainberg. 

The Golden Gate prize for Bay Area documentary feature went to Sara Dosa's "The Last Season," about rare-mushroom hunting in the Oregon woods. Talal Derki's "Return to Homs," a Syrian and German coproduction, scooped up the special jury prize as a window into the Syrian conflict.

The Golden Gate Award Short Film jury consisted of journalist Jonathan Kiefer, author Vendela Vida and filmmaker Diana Williams: winners are listed in full below. 

This article is related to: San Francisco, San Francisco Film Society, San Francisco International Film Festival, Awards, Festivals

E-Mail Updates

Festivals on TOH

Thompson on Hollywood

Born and raised in Manhattan, Anne Thompson grew up going to the Thalia and The New Yorker and wound up at grad Cinema Studies at NYU. She worked at United Artists and Film Comment before heading west as that magazine's west coast editor. She wrote for the LA Weekly, Sight and Sound, Empire, The New York Times and Entertainment Weekly before serving as West Coast Editor of Premiere. She wrote for The Washington Post, The London Observer, Wired, More, and Vanity Fair, and did staff stints at The Hollywood Reporter and Variety. She eventually took her blog Thompson on Hollywood to Indiewire. She taught film criticism at USC Critical Studies, and continues to host the fall semester of “Sneak Previews” for UCLA Extension.