Sundance Juries Include Banks, Posey, Spurlock, Vachon, Schwarzbaum

by Anne Thompson
January 11, 2010 3:53 AM
  • |

Thompson on Hollywood
Sundance has announced the members for its five juries for 2010. The ten-day fest fest gets under way January 21.

U.S. Documentary Competition Jury: filmmaker Greg Barker (Sergio), director/producer Dayna Goldfine (Ballet Russes), Wired senior editor Nancy Miller, documentary filmmaker Morgan Spurlock (Super Size Me) and filmmaker Ondi Timoner (We Live in Public).

U.S. Dramatic Competition Jury: novelist Russell Banks (The Sweet Hereafter), producer Jason Kliot (Three Seasons), director Karyn Kusama (Jennifer's Body), actress Parker Posey (Happy Tears), cinematographer Robert Yeoman (Whip It).

World Cinema Documentary Competition Jury: documentarian Jennifer Baichwal (Manufactured Landscapes), PBS correspondent Jeffrey Brown, Yamagata International Documentary Film Festival director Asako Fujioka.

World Cinema Dramatic Competition Jury: writer/director Alison Maclean (Jesus's Son), Entertainment Weekly critic Lisa Schwarzbaum, producer Sigurjon “Joni” Sighvatsson (Arlington Road).

Shorts Competition Jury: filmmaker Sterlin Harjo (Barking Water), Wholphin DVD editor and cofounder Brent Hoff, Killer Films chief Christine Vachon (I'm Not There).

Short film awards will be named January 26 and the rest of the awards will be announced January 30. A new NEXT award, chosen by the eight NEXT filmmakers, will honor the best low-budget film.

  • |

More: festivals, Sundance

You might also like:


Free Indie Movies and Documentaries    

Email Updates

Most "Liked"

  • LISTEN: On KCRW's The Treatment, Mindy ...
  • Brad Pitt to Star in David Michôd's ...
  • Arthouse Audit: 'Only Lovers Left Alive' ...
  • Fox's Jim Gianopulos to Deliver USC ...
  • Pulitzer Prize Winners Unveiled
  • The Highs and Lows of the Meaningless ...
  • Watch: Highlights from Seth Rogen's ...
  • Box Office Top Ten: 'Captain America' ...
  • Career Watch: As 'Mad Men' Enters Its ...
  • WATCH: Guillermo Arriaga's Anthology ...