Nicholl Fellowship

The Academy announces the winners of its 2012 Nicholl Fellowship in Screenwriting. Each of the winners, listed below, will be given $35,000. The first installment of this award will be given at a gala dinner in Beverly Hills on November 8. Over the next year the fellows with complete a feature-length screenplay.

The five winners, including the first to come from Louisiana and South Africa, were chosen from a pool of 7,197 submitted scripts.

This year's winners are:

Nikole Beckwith, Brooklyn, NY, "Stockholm, Pennsylvania"
Sean Robert Daniels, Laezonia, Gauteng, South Africa, "Killers"
James DiLapo, New York, NY, "Devils at Play"
Allan Durand, Lafayette, LA, "Willie Francis Must Die Again"
Michael Werwie, Los Angeles, CA, "Extremely Wicked, Shockingly Evil, and Vile"