Sundance Lab
Sundance Lab

The Sundance Institute has selected 13 Projects for the 2013 directors and screenwriters labs May 27 through June 27. Under the leadership of Michelle Satter, Founding Director of the Institute’s Feature Film Program, and the artistic direction of Gyula Gazdag, the Fellows selected for this year's program include emerging filmmakers and projects from the United States, Europe, Mexico, Peru and Somalia.

At the Directors Lab, Fellows workshop their scripts closely with Creative Advisors, actors and production crews to shoot and edit key scenes from their screenplays. Directors Lab Fellows join five additional projects for the week-long Screenwriters Lab, where they participate in individualized story sessions under the guidance of established screenwriters.

Even after the Directors and Screenwriters Labs, the participants get continued indivdual year-round support from the Feature Film Program, which can include ongoing advice, production and postproduction resources, the Screenplay Reading Series, the Work in Progress Screening Initiative and direct financial support through project-specific grants and artist fellowships.

Since its founding in 1981, the Feature Film Program has supported an extensive list of award-winning and ground-breaking independent films. This year alone, four Feature Film Program-supported films have been selected for the 2013 Cannes Film Festival including Ritesh Batra’s "The Lunchbox" (Critics Week), Ryan Coogler’s "Fruitvale Station" (Un Certain Regard), "Amat Escalante’s Heli" (Competition) and David Lowery’s "Ain't Them Bodies Saints" (Critics Week).

Creative Advisors for the Directors and Screenwriters Labs include Sundance Institute President and Founder Robert Redford, Gyula Gazdag (Artistic Director), Michael Almereyda, John August, Walter Bernstein, Kathryn Bigelow, Scott Burns, Steve Chbosky, Joan Darling, Caleb Deschanel, Suzy Elmiger, Deena Goldstone, Keith Gordon, Randa Haines, Ed Harris, Michael Hoffman, Azazel Jacobs, Pablo Larrain, Josh Marston, Doug McGrath, Andrew Mondshein, Walter Mosley, Jose Rivera, Walter Salles, Jennifer Salt, Susan Shilliday, Peter Sollett, Wesley Strick, Chris Terrio, Joan Tewkesbury, Stanley Tucci, Audrey Wells, Alfre Woodard, Doug Wright, and Mauricio Zacharias.

The projects and participants selected for the 2013 June Directors Lab (May 27 – June 20) are: