Nora Ephron
Nora Ephron

The Tribeca Film Festival (April 17-28) has announced the creation of a new award, the Nora Ephron Prize. The $25,000 award will recognize a woman writer or director with a distinctive voice who embodies the spirit and vision of writer-director Ephron (1941-2012). 

The inaugural prize, called "the Nora," will be presented at the TFF Women Filmmakers Brunch on April 25. It will be given to a woman whose film is making its North American, International or World Premiere at the Tribeca fest.

This year, the eight filmmakers eligible for the Nora are:

  • Laurie Collyer, Sunlight Jr.
  • Steph Green, Run and Jump
  • Jenee LaMarque, The Pretty One
  • Meera Menon, Farah Goes Bang
  • Mo Ogrodnik, Deep Powder
  • Marina de Van, Dark Touch
  • Jane Weinstock, The Moment
  • Enid Zentelis, Bottled Up