Click to Skip Ad
Closing in...

Sarah Polley, Breaking Bad's Gennifer Hutchison Win Big at WGA Awards

by Inkoo Kang
February 4, 2014 10:00 AM
  • |
Sarah Polley on the set of "Stories We Tell"
Sarah Polley on the set of "Stories We Tell"

Stories We Tell and Breaking Bad were feted as the 2014 Writers Guild favorites this weekend. 

After being mysteriously snubbed by the Academy this year, Sarah Polley's family documentary Stories We Tell picked up another Best Documentary prize from the WGA. 

On the TV front, Breaking Bad was the only program to earn more than one prize: for Best Drama and Best Drama Episode. Gennifer Hutchison received the latter for her script "Confessions." Since Walter White has met his end, Hutchison has moved onto FX's summer vampire horror series The Strain.

Scroll down for the WGA winners. We have listed most of the TV awardees, as small-screen projects are generally penned by a team of co-ed writers. We have, however, bolded individual female screenwriters whose efforts were singled out for recognition: 


Best Original Screenplay: Spike Jonze, "Her"

Best Adapted Screenplay: Billy Ray, "Captain Phillips"

Best Documentary Screenplay: Sarah Polley, "Stories We Tell"


Comedy Series: "Veep"

Drama Series: "Breaking Bad"

New Series: "House of Cards"

Episodic Comedy: Jack Burditt and Robert Carlock, "30 Rock" ("Hogcock!")

Episodic Drama: Gennifer Hutchison, "Breaking Bad" ("Confessions")

Long Form - Adapted: Shawn Slovo, "Muhammad Ali's Greatest Fight"

Animation: Joel H. Cohen, "The Simpsons" ("A Test Before Trying")

Daytime Drama: "Days of Our Lives"

Childrens - Episodic & Specials: Vincent Brown, "A.N.T. Farm" ("InfluANTces")

Documentary - Current Events: Marcela Gaviria and Martin Smith, "Frontline" ("Egypt in Crisis")

Documentary - Other Than Current Events: Randall MacLowry and Michelle Ferrari, "American Experience" ("Silicon Valley")

News - Analysis, Feature or Commentary: Michael Rey, Oriana Zill de Granados and Michael Radutzky, "60 Minutes" ("Lethal Medicine")

Quiz and Audience Patricipation: John Duarte, Harry Friedman, Mark Gaberman, Debbie Griffin, Michele Loud, Robert McClenaghan, Jim Rhine, Steve D. Tamerius and Billy Wisse, "Jeopardy!"

Promotional Writing and Graphic Animation: Erial Tompkins, "The Crazy Ones - Building a Better Comedy"

Free Indie Movies and Documentaries    


Email Updates

Most "Liked"

  • Guest Post: Going Back to School with ...
  • Infographic: Women Directors in the ...
  • Male Privilege Watch: Man With No Directing ...
  • Some Links To Check Out From Vacation ...
  • Meet Outlander, the Anti-Game of Th ...
  • September 2014 Film Preview
  • UK Government Hires First Woman Head ...
  • Ellen Burstyn to Direct Her First Film, ...