Click to Skip Ad
Closing in...

Where are the Women Recipients of the American Society of Cinematography Outstanding Achievement Awards?

by Kerensa Cadenas
November 7, 2012 11:00 AM
  • |

The American Society of Cinematographers announced the recipients of their 27th annual ASC Outstanding Achievement Awards. The awards will take place on February 10.

No women were honored of the four awards announced.

While we're sure Dean Semler, Rodney Charters, Robby Muller and Curtis Clark are certainly deserving of these awards, the problem lies more in the fact that women are deeply under represented in cinematography. In 2011, only 4% of all cinematographers were women. 

We know there are great women working as cinematographers.  Give them some visibility.  If you can't see can't be it. (Marian Wright Edelman)

Four Noted cinematographers to be honored at the ASC Awards (Los Angeles Times)

Free Indie Movies and Documentaries    


Email Updates

Most "Liked"

  • Guest Post: Going Back to School with ...
  • Infographic: Women Directors in the ...
  • Male Privilege Watch: Man With No Directing ...
  • Meet Outlander, the Anti-Game of Th ...
  • 8 Queer Women Films to Watch in 201 ...
  • Top Designers Refused to Make Melissa ...